Gabriel Cohen is an American author of crime fiction and literary fiction novels, and non-fiction books. He has written for such publications as The New York Times, Poets & Writers, Shambhala Sun, the New York Post, and Time Out New York. Aside from writing, Gabriel has also taught writing and lectured.

Gabriel Cohen made his debut as a novelist in 2001 with the novel Red Hook, beginning the Detective Jack Leightner series. The novel was nominated for an Edgar Award. Below is a list of Gabriel Cohen’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Gabriel Cohen releases a new book at

Publication Order of Detective Jack Leightner Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Storms Can't Hurt the Sky (2008)Description / Buy at

If You Like Gabriel Cohen Books, You’ll Love…

Gabriel Cohen Synopsis: Boombox is a standalone title by Gabriel Cohen. Black and white, young and old, men and women, they live in Brooklyn’s Boerum Hill, sharing a courtyard in relative harmony. It had been called “the urban mosaic” by a former mayor. There’s Carol Fasone, a secretary who has just recently been married to a Bosnian immigrant. There’s Mitchell Brett, a Wall Streeter transplanted from Manhattan’s Upper East Side, trying to get his wife pregnant. There’s Grace Howard, hoping for a promotion in her corporate job, surprised to find herself beginning a romance with a member of the Board. And then there’s teenage Jamel Wilson, who buys a big sound system to impress his friends from the projects around the corner, blasts gangster rap into the backyard gardens, and – over the course of one hot summer – pushes the block’s friendships and alliances past the breaking point.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Gabriel Cohen Books

Leave a Reply