Robin McKinley is an American author of young adult fantasy novels. Robin grew up as an only child, whose father was in the U.S. Navy. Thus, she moved around a lot and credits as inspiration for her fiction. She always loved reading, and associated events, places and time periods based on the books she read. Besides being an author, Robin has worked as an editor/transcriber, researcher assistant, bookstore clerk, teacher and counselor, editorial assistant, barn manager, freelance editor, and full-time writer. She enjoys reading, walking her dogs, gardening, cooking, playing the piano, homeopathy and blogging. Robin has lived in Ohio, Maine, Massachusetts, New York and England – where she lives with her husband, Peter Dickinson.

Robin McKinley made her debut as a published author in 1978 with the novel Beauty. Below is a list of Robin McKinley’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Robin McKinley releases a new book at

Publication Order of Damar Books

The Door in the Hedge and Other Stories (1981)Description / Buy at
The Blue Sword (1982)Description / Buy at
The Hero and the Crown (1984)Description / Buy at
Imaginary Lands (1985)Description / Buy at
A Knot in the Grain (1994)Description / Buy at
The Stone Fey (1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Folktales Books

Publication Order of Pegasus Books

Publication Order of Tales Of Elemental Spirits Books

(with Peter Dickinson)

Water (With: Peter Dickinson) (2002)Description / Buy at
Fire (With: Peter Dickinson) (2009)Description / Buy at
Earth and Air (By: Peter Dickinson) (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Door in the Hedge and Other Stories (1981)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Imaginary Lands(1985)Description / Buy at
Dragons and Warrior Daughters(1989)Description / Buy at
Spells of Enchantment(1991)Description / Buy at
Silver Birch, Blood Moon(1999)Description / Buy at
Year's Best Fantasy and Horror: Sixteenth Annual Collection(2003)Description / Buy at
Lightspeed Magazine, February 2014(2014)Description / Buy at

Note: The collections Water and Fire were collaborated on with Peter Dickinson.

If You Like Robin McKinley Books, You’ll Love…

Robin McKinley Synopsis: The Outlaws of Sherwood is a standalone novel by Robin McKinley. Robin Longbow is a sub-apprentice forester in Sherwood Forest, barely eking out a living-and barely able to control his temper when he is confronted by the taunts of the Chief Forester’s favorite. One careless shot, and he has killed the man. From then on, Robin is on the run – but he is not alone. Joined first by his friends Much and Marian, then by more and more people who despise the Norman lords who tax them blind, Robin builds a community of Saxon outlaws deep in Sherwood who risk the gallows and the sword for the sake of justice and freedom.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Robin McKinley Books

Leave a Reply