sharon-shinn (Photo Credit: Raquita Henderson)
Sharon Shinn is an American author of science fiction and fantasy novels. She writes the Samaria, Safe-Keepers, Twelve Houses, Elemental Blessings and Shifting Circle series. Sharon has been writing since she was eight years old. She has a degree in journalism from Northwestern University that she used to support herself while she honed her fiction writing craft. Sharon won the William C. Crawford Award for Outstanding New Fantasy Writer and was nominated for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer.

Sharon Shinn made her debut as a published novelist in 1995 with the novel The Shape-Changer’s Wife. Below is a list of Sharon Shinn’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Sharon Shinn releases a new book at

Publication Order of Elemental Blessings Books

Publication Order of Safe-Keepers Books


The Safe-Keeper's Secret (2004)Description / Buy at
The Truth-Teller's Tale (2005)Description / Buy at
The Dream-Maker's Magic (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Samaria Books

Publication Order of Shifting Circle Books

The Shape of Desire (2012)Description / Buy at
Still Life with Shape-shifter (2012)Description / Buy at
The Turning Season (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Twelve Houses Books

Mystic and Rider (2005)Description / Buy at
The Thirteenth House (2006)Description / Buy at
Dark Moon Defender (2006)Description / Buy at
Reader and Raelynx (2007)Description / Buy at
Fortune and Fate (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Uncommon Echoes Books

Echo in Onyx (2019)Description / Buy at
Echo in Emerald (2019)Description / Buy at
Echo in Amethyst (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Shape-Changer's Wife (1995)Description / Buy at
Wrapt in Crystal (1999)Description / Buy at
Heart of Gold (2000)Description / Buy at
Summers at Castle Auburn (2001)Description / Buy at
Jenna Starborn (2002)Description / Buy at
General Winston's Daughter (2007)Description / Buy at
Gateway (2009)Description / Buy at
Shadows of the Past (2021)Description / Buy at
The Shuddering City (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

Shattered Warrior (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Quatrain (2009)Description / Buy at
Angels and Other Extraordinary Beings (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Powers of Detection(2004)Description / Buy at
Firebirds Rising: An Anthology of Original Science Fiction and Fantasy(2005)Description / Buy at
Elemental: The Tsunami Relief Anthology(2006)Description / Buy at
The Queen in Winter(2006)Description / Buy at
Elemental Magic(2007)Description / Buy at
Never After(2009)Description / Buy at
Whedonistas(2011)Description / Buy at
Angels of Darkness(2011)Description / Buy at
Fantastic Hope(2020)Description / Buy at
No Game for Knights(2022)Description / Buy at

Notes: To Weave a Web of Magic also has stories by Claire Delacroix, Lynn Kurland and Patricia A. McKillip. The Queen in Winter also includes stories by Claire Delacroix, Lynn Kurland and Sarah Monette. Elemental Magic also has stories by Carol Berg, Jean Johnson and Rebecca York. Never After also includes stories from Yasmine Galenorn, Laurell K. Hamilton and Marjorie M. Liu. Angels of Darkness also has stories by Ilona Andrews, Meljean Brook and Nalini Singh.

If You Like Sharon Shinn Books, You’ll Love…

Sharon Shinn Synopses: Summmers at Castle Auburn is a standalone novel by Sharon Shinn. A woman blessed, or cursed, with a talent for witchcraft returns to Castle Auburn where she spent her childhood in joy – only to find an aura of dread awaiting her.

Jenna Starborn is a standalone title by Sharon Shinn. Jenna Starborn was a child created out of frozen embryonic tissue – unloved and unwanted. Yet she has grown up with a singularly sharp mind – and a heart that warms to those she sees as less fortunate than herself. The novel is set on a planet called Fieldstar, where readers visit a property called Thorrastone – whose enigmatic lord will test the strength of that tender and compassionate heart.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Sharon Shinn Books

Leave a Reply