Gail Bowen
Gail Bowen is a Canadian author of mystery novels, in addition to being a playwright. She writes the Joanne Kilbourn series and the Charlie D series. Gail was born in Toronto, Ontario and attended the University of Toronto, the University of Waterloo and the University of Saskatchewan. She went on to teach English at the First Nations University of Canada. Several of her Joanne Kilbourn novels have been made into TV movies that have aired on Canadian television, produced by Shaftesbury Films and CTV.

Gail Bowen’s debut as a novelist was in 1986 with the novella 1919: The Love Letters of George and Adelaide, co-authored by Ron Marken. Her debut solo novel was Deadly Appearances in 1990. Below is a list of Gail Bowen’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Gail Bowen releases a new book at

Publication Order of Joanne Kilbourn Mystery Books

Deadly Appearances (1990)Description / Buy at
Murder at the Mendel / Love and Murder (1991)Description / Buy at
The Wandering Soul Murders (1992)Description / Buy at
A Colder Kind of Death (1994)Description / Buy at
A Killing Spring (1996)Description / Buy at
Verdict in Blood (1998)Description / Buy at
Burying Ariel (2000)Description / Buy at
The Glass Coffin (2002)Description / Buy at
The Last Good Day (2004)Description / Buy at
The Endless Knot (2006)Description / Buy at
The Brutal Heart (2008)Description / Buy at
The Nesting Dolls (2010)Description / Buy at
Kaleidoscope (2012)Description / Buy at
The Gifted (2013)Description / Buy at
12 Rose Street (2015)Description / Buy at
What's Left Behind (2016)Description / Buy at
The Winners' Circle (2017)Description / Buy at
A Darkness of the Heart (2018)Description / Buy at
The Unlocking Season (2020)Description / Buy at
An Image in the Lake (2021)Description / Buy at
What’s Past Is Prologue (2022)Description / Buy at
The Legacy (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Charlie D Books

Love You to Death (2010)Description / Buy at
One Fine Day You're Gonna Die (2010)Description / Buy at
The Shadow Killer (2011)Description / Buy at
The Thirteenth Rose (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

1919, The Love Letters Of George & Adelaide (1987)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Plays

Dancing in Poppies (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Gail Bowen Omnibus Books

The Early Investigations of Joanne Kilbourn (2004)Description / Buy at
The Further Investigations of Joanne Kilbourn (2006)Description / Buy at
Gail Bowen Bundle (2013)Description / Buy at
The Joanne Kilbourn Mysteries 6-Book Bundle Volume 3 (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

Toronto Noir(2008)Description / Buy at
The Dame Was Trouble(2018)Description / Buy at

Note: Murder at the Mendel was also published as Love and Murder.

If You Like Gail Bowen Books, You’ll Love…

Gail Bowen Synopsis: Love You to Death is the first Charlie D mystery novel by Gail Bowen. Charlie D is a successful host of a late-night radio talk show. His listeners have a particularly intimate relationship with him and often reveal a lot about their lives, confident that he is trustworthy and that he can help them. In their minds, he is perfect: one of life’s winners. But Charlie feels like a fake. His easy confidence on-air belies the reality for a man born with a wine-colored birthmark that covers half his face. Love You to Death spans one hour on “The World According to Charlie D” – an hour during which he must both discover the long-time listener who is killing the people who trust him and attempt to come to terms with the man behind the birthmark.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Gail Bowen Books

Leave a Reply