Gail Oust
Gail Oust is an American author of cozy mystery novels as well as historical romance novels (as Elizabeth Turner). She writes the Bunco Babes Mysteries (ft. Kate McCall) and the Spice Shop Mysteries series. Throughout her life, Gail and her long-time husband, Bob, have lived in Chicago, upstate New York and the Detroit suburbs. Following a move to a small South Carolina town that is reminiscent of Kate McCall’s hometown, Gail switched from historical romances to cozy mysteries. Being that she has enjoyed mysteries ever since she was a young girl reading Nancy Drew, the switch was not a difficult one for her.

Gail Oust became a published novelist in 1986 with the novel Sweet Possession as Elizabeth Turner. In 2009, she debuted as a cozy mystery author with Whack ‘n’ Roll (later reissued as Murder is Dicey). Below is a list of Gail Oust’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Gail Oust releases a new book at

Publication Order of Bunco Babes Mysteries/Kate McCall Books

Whack 'N' Roll / Murder is Dicey (2009)Description / Buy at
'Til Dice Do Us Part /Roll Over and Play Dead (2010)Description / Buy at
Shake, Murder, and Roll / Death Rolls the Dice (2011)Description / Buy at
The Twelve Dice of Christmas (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Spice Shop Mysteries Books

Rosemary and Crime (2013)Description / Buy at
Kill 'Em with Cayenne (2014)Description / Buy at
Cinnamon Toasted (2015)Description / Buy at
Curried Away (2016)Description / Buy at
Ginger Snapped (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Sweet Possession (1986)Description / Buy at
Forbidden Fires (1988)Description / Buy at
Fortune's Captive (1991)Description / Buy at
Midnight Rain (1994)Description / Buy at
Inside Paradise (1996)Description / Buy at
Bayou Magic (1999)Description / Buy at
Wild And Sweet (2000)Description / Buy at
Rebel's Treasure (2002)Description / Buy at
Just Before Daybreak (2002)Description / Buy at

Notes: Whack ‘n’ Roll was re-published as Murder is Dicey. ‘Til Dice Do Us Part was re-published as Roll Over and Play Dead. Shake, Murder, and Roll was reissued as Death Rolls the Dice. All standalone novels are historical romances written as Elizabeth Turner.

If You Like Gail Oust Books, You’ll Love…

Gail Oust Synopsis: Whack ‘N’ Roll (aka Murder is Dicey) by Gail Oust is the first book in the Bunco Babes Mysteries series, featuring Kate McCall. The 60ish club at Serenity Cove Estates in South Carolina are always keeping active. When not playing Bunco or putting the greens, they are gossiping as well as partying. So it’s no surprise that when Kate McCall and her fellow Bunco Babes come across a dismembered arm during a golf game, rumors – and excitement – follow. The Bunco Babes decide to roll out their own investigation. But some of the suspects are right in their very own manicured backyards. And there’s no forfeiting the game if the wrong roll of the dice sends the killer their way…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Gail Oust Books

One Response to “Order of Gail Oust Books”

  1. Peggy Jones: 4 years ago

    I am very disappointed that the author has not continued the “Spice Shop Mysteries” series. Have the read four and ordered the 5th from my local library. Also noticed her other books are not recent. Has she retired from writing?
    Peggy Jones, Ft. Worth,TX


Leave a Reply