Gene Kerrigan is an Irish author of fiction and non-fiction books. He is also a journalist. His journalism work has included political commentary on Ireland since the 1970s, and about Ireland for International Socialism magazine. He was chosen as World Journalist of the Year in 1985 and 1990. His book The Rage won the 2012 Gold Dagger for the best crime novel of the year.

Gene Kerrigan made his debut as a published author in 1984 with the non-fiction book Round Up the Usual Suspects (with Derek Dunne). His debut as a novelist was in 2005, with Little Criminals. Below is a list of Gene Kerrigan’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Gene Kerrigan releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Little Criminals (2005)Description / Buy at
The Midnight Choir (2006)Description / Buy at
Dark Times in the City (2009)Description / Buy at
The Rage (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Round Up the Usual Suspects (With: Derek Dunne) (1984)Description / Buy at
Nothing But the Truth (1990)Description / Buy at
Hard Cases (1995)Description / Buy at
Another Country (1998)Description / Buy at
This Great Little Nation (1999)Description / Buy at
Never Make a Promise You Can't Break (2002)Description / Buy at
The Big Lie (2012)Description / Buy at
The Scrap (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

If You Like Gene Kerrigan Books, You’ll Love…

Gene Kerrigan Synopses: Set in modern Dublin, Little Criminals by Gene Kerrigan is a story that bristles with tension and expectation, a story about what happens to the fragile things – friendship, love, compassion – when all rules are broken. Justin and Angela Kennedy are doing well. They have wealth, position, love, children, and a future that seems limitless. Into their lives comes Frankie Crowe, an ambitious criminal tired of risking his life for small change. Together with a crew of singularly dangerous men, Frankie decides that a kidnapping could be the first step toward a better life.

The Midnight Choir by Gene Kerrigan deals with moral dilemmas and Dublin emerges as a city of ambiguity: a newly-scrubbed face hiding a criminal culture of terrible variety. Small-time criminals have become millionaire businessmen, the poor are still struggling to survive, and the police face a world where the old rules no longer apply.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Gene Kerrigan Books

Leave a Reply