Gianrico Carofiglio is an award-winning novelist and former prosecutor who specialized in organized crime. He is perhaps best known as the author of the Guido Guerrieri series of books.

In addition to his work as a prosecutor, Gianrico also worked as an adviser of the anti-Mafia committee in the Italian parliament. He also served as a senator in Italy from 2008 to 2013.

Get notified when Gianrico Carofiglio releases a new book at

Publication Order of Guido Guerrieri Books

Involuntary Witness (2002)Description / Buy at
A Walk in the Dark (2003)Description / Buy at
Reasonable Doubts (2006)Description / Buy at
Temporary Perfections (2010)Description / Buy at
A Fine Line (2014)Description / Buy at
The Measure of Time (2019)Description / Buy at
L'orizzonte della notte (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Pietro Fenoglio Books

The Cold Summer (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Past is a Foreign Country (2004)Description / Buy at
The Silence of the Wave (2011)Description / Buy at
Three O'Clock in the Morning (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

If You Like Gianrico Carofigli Books, You’ll Love…

Involuntary Witness is the first book in the Guido Guerrieri crime fiction series. The book starts with Guido, defense counsel, catching a hopeless case as a nine-year-old boy has been found murdered at the bottom of a well. His client is a Senegalese peddler at a beach resort in southern Italy and the case has a lot of racism surrounding it. The book portrays a unique insight into the Italian judicial system and works as a powerful attack on the racism that truly affects that area and people like his client in this case.

The Cold Summer is the first book in the Pietro Fenoglio series. The book starts with the summer of 1992 in Italy. This is a summer that people remember well for just how cold it was. In May of that year, an explosion killed a judge, his wife, and three police officers. A few weeks later, another judge and more police officers are killed. The judges were all anti-mafia and they became heroes in death, but the violence only empowered the mafia and caused it to spread. Maresciallo Pietro Fenoglio, an officer of the Italian Carabinier, picks up where they left off. It’s hard to do much, but when a gang member is accused of killing a child and decides to cooperate – he has a case. The story is told through actual testimony of the informant with expert writing by the ex-mafia judge author.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Gianrico Carofiglio Books

Leave a Reply