Heather Marshall is a Canadian author of historical fiction novels. Prior to becoming a novelist, she worked in politics and communications. Heather lives outside of Toronto with her family.

Heather Marshall made her debut as a novelist in 2022 with Looking for Jane. Below is a list of Heather Marshall’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Heather Marshall releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Heather Marshall Standalone Novels

Looking For Jane (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Secret History of Audrey James (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Heather Marshall Books, You’ll Love…

Heather Marshall Synopses: Looking for Jane is the debut title by Heather Marshall.

2017: Angela Creighton discovers a mysterious letter containing a life-shattering confession in a stack of forgotten mail. Determined to find the intended recipient, her search takes her back to the 1970s when a group of daring women operated an illegal underground abortion network in Toronto, known only by its whispered code name: Jane…

1971: As a teenager, Dr. Evelyn Taylor was sent to a home for “fallen” women, where she was forced to give up her baby for adoption—a trauma she has never recovered from. Despite harrowing police raids and the constant threat of arrest, she joins the Jane Network as an abortion provider, determined to give other women the choice she never had.

1980: After discovering a shocking secret about her family history, twenty-year-old Nancy Mitchell begins to question everything she has ever known. When she unexpectedly becomes pregnant, she feels like she has no one to turn to for help. Grappling with her decision, she locates “Jane” and finds a place of her own alongside Dr. Taylor within the network’s ranks, but she can never escape the lies that haunt her.

The Secret History of Audrey James is a standalone novel by Heather Marshall.

Northern England, 2010: After a tragic accident upends her life, Kate Mercer leaves London to work at an old guest house near the Scottish border, hoping to find a fresh start and heal from her loss. When she arrives, she begins to unravel the truth about her past but discovers that the mysterious elderly proprietor is harboring her own secrets.

Berlin, 1938: Audrey James is weeks away from graduating from a prestigious music school in Berlin, where she’s been living with her best friend, Ilse Kaplan. As she prepares to finish her piano studies, Audrey dreads the thought of returning to her father in England and leaving Ilse behind. Families like the Kaplans are being targeted, and the stakes grow higher by the day. Restrictions tighten, borders close to Jews, and rumors swirl about people being apprehended in the street and shipped off to work camps.

When Ilse’s parents and brother suddenly disappear, two high-ranking Nazi party members confiscate the Kaplans’ upscale home, believing it to be empty. In a desperate attempt to keep Ilse safe, Audrey becomes a housekeeper for the officers while Ilse is forced into hiding in the attic—a prisoner in her own home. As war in Europe threatens, it isn’t long before a shocking turn of events pushes Audrey to become embroiled in a cell of the anti-Hitler movement: clusters of resisters working to bring down the Nazis from within Germany itself. But resistance comes with risk, and before the war is over, Audrey must decide what matters most: saving herself, her friend, or sacrificing everything for the greater good.

Inspired by true stories of courageous women and the German resistance during WWII, this captivating novel explores the unbreakable bonds of friendship, the sacrifices we make for those we love, and the healing that comes from human connection. As Kate Mercer delves into the secrets of the past in Northern England, she discovers a link to Audrey James, whose bravery and friendship with Ilse Kaplan defied the horrors of Nazi Germany. This dual timeline story intertwines Kate’s journey of healing with Audrey’s daring resistance, revealing how the echoes of history can shape our present and future.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Heather Marshall Books

Leave a Reply