Herman Wouk
Herman Wouk (1915-2019) was an American author of historical fiction novels. He joined the U.S. Navy and served in the Pacific Theater of World War II, which he bases much of his fiction on. Wouk kept a daily journal ever since 1937, which he uses for research. The U.S. Library of Congress scanned over 100 volumes of his journal into digital format; the Library of Congress then honoured Wouk with a Lifetime Achievement in the Writing of Fiction. He was also awarded a Pulitzer Prize for his novel The Caine Mutiny, which has been touted as one of the most realistic depictions of life on a U.S. ship during World War II. Wouk passed away in 2019, ten days before his 104th birthday.

Herman Wouk became a published author in 1941 with the novel The Ballad of Wake Island: Spoken by a Quantico Sergeant. Below is a list of Herman Wouk’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of The Henry Family Books

The Winds of War (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
War and Remembrance (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of The Hope and the Glory Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Ballad of Wake Island: Spoken by a Quantico Sergeant (1941)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Aurora Dawn: Or, the True History of Andrew Reale (1947)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Caine Mutiny (1951)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The City Boy: The Adventures of Herbie Bookbinder (1951)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Marjorie Morningstar (1955)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Slattery's Hurricane (1956)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Youngblood Hawke (1962)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Don't Stop the Carnival (1965)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The "Lomokome" Papers (1968)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Inside, Outside (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Hole in Texas (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Lawgiver (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Plays

The Traitor (1949)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Caine Mutiny Court-Martial (1954)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Nature's Way (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

This is My God: The Jewish Way of Life (1959)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Agnon in Jerusalem: A Reminiscence and a Teacher (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Will to Live On (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Language God Talks (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sailor and Fiddler (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

This Was Your War(1960)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Rough Water: Stories of Survival from the Sea(1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Herman Wouk Books, You’ll Love…

Herman Wouk Synopses: City Boy by Herman Wouk is a humourous and sometimes emotional story of a kid from the city’s life on the street, in school, in the country. He is constantly in pursuit of Lucille, a heartless redhead personifying all the girls who pique the interest of 11 year-old boys.

Inside, Outside by Herman Wouk is focused on the life of David Goodkind, Special Assistant to President Nixon during the Watergate scandal and the Yom Kippur War.

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Herman Wouk Books

Leave a Reply