John Jakes is an American author of historical fiction (including historical romance and western fiction) as well as science fiction and fantasy. His career began upon graduation, selling stories to pulp magazines. Following that, he worked in the advertising while writing on the side and in 1971, moved to full-time. He first gained widespread notice with his Kent Family Chronicles, which sold 55 million copies in the 1970s. He is also well-known for his North and South Trilogy, centered on the Civil War, which was adapted to a television mini-series that aired on ABC.

John Jakes’ debut as a published novelist came in 1952 with the western novel The Texans Ride North. Below is a list of John Jakes’ books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Johnny Havoc Books

Johnny Havoc (1960)Description / Buy at
Havoc for Sale / Havoc Meets Zelda (1962)Description / Buy at
Holiday for Havoc / And The Doll Who Had 'It' (1963)Description / Buy at
Johnny Havoc and the Siren in Red / Making It Big (1968)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lou Largo Books

(with William Ard)

Make Mine Mavis (1961)Description / Buy at
And So to Bed (1962)Description / Buy at
Give Me This Woman (1962)Description / Buy at
Series ghostwritten by John Jakes.

Publication Order of II Galaxy Books

The Planet Wizard (1969)Description / Buy at
Tonight We Steal the Stars (1969)Description / Buy at
The Wagered World (1969)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Brak the Barbarian Books

Brak the Barbarian (1968)Description / Buy at
Brak vs. The Sorceress / Witch of the Four Winds (1969)Description / Buy at
Brak vs. the Mark of the Demons (1969)Description / Buy at
When the Idols Walked (1978)Description / Buy at
The Fortunes of Brak (1985)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Gavin Black Books

Witch of the Dark Gate (1972)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Kent Family Books

Publication Order of Planet of the Apes Books

Planet of the Apes (By: Pierre Boulle,Xan Fielding) (1963)Description / Buy at
Beneath The Planet of The Apes (By: Michael Avallone) (1970)Description / Buy at
Escape from the Planet of the Apes (By: Jerry Pournelle) (1973)Description / Buy at
Conquest of the Planet of the Apes (1974)Description / Buy at
Planet of the Apes Movie Novelization (By: William T. Quick) (2001)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of North and South Books

North and South (1982)Description / Buy at
Love and War (1984)Description / Buy at
Heaven and Hell (1987)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Crown Family Saga Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Texans Ride North (1952)Description / Buy at
Wear a Fast Gun (1952)Description / Buy at
The Devil Has Four Faces (1958)Description / Buy at
The Seventh Man (1958)Description / Buy at
I, Barbarian (1959)Description / Buy at
The Imposter (1959)Description / Buy at
Strike the Black Flag (1961)Description / Buy at
Veils of Salome (1962)Description / Buy at
Sir Scoundrel (1962)Description / Buy at
The Man from Cannae (1963)Description / Buy at
G. I. Girls (1963)Description / Buy at
Traitors' Legion (1963)Description / Buy at
Arena (1963)Description / Buy at
Secrets of Stardeep (1969)Description / Buy at
The Asylum World (1969)Description / Buy at
The Last Magicians (1969)Description / Buy at
The Hybrid (1969)Description / Buy at
Six-Gun Planet (1970)Description / Buy at
Black in Time (1970)Description / Buy at
Monte Cristo #99 (1970)Description / Buy at
The Star Virus/Mask of Chaos (1970)Description / Buy at
Time Gate (1972)Description / Buy at
Mention My Name in Atlantis (1972)Description / Buy at
On Wheels (1973)Description / Buy at
Fortune's Whirlwind (1975)Description / Buy at
To an Unknown Shore (1975)Description / Buy at
King's Crusader (1977)Description / Buy at
A Night for Treason (1978)Description / Buy at
Excalibur! (With: Gil Kane) (1980)Description / Buy at
California Gold (1989)Description / Buy at
On Secret Service (2000)Description / Buy at
The Bold Frontier (2001)Description / Buy at
Charleston (2002)Description / Buy at
Savannah, or A Gift for Mr. Lincoln / Savannah Christmas (2004)Description / Buy at
The Gods of Newport (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Ghoul's Garden (1973)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Best of John Jakes (1977)Description / Buy at
The Best Western Stories of John Jakes (1991)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Plays

Charles Dickens' A Christmas Carol (1999)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Famous Firsts in Sports (1967)Description / Buy at
Great Women Reporters (1969)Description / Buy at
Mohawk: The Life of Joseph Brant (1969)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Orbit 3(1967)Description / Buy at
Swords Against Tomorrow(1970)Description / Buy at
Flashing Swords! #2(1973)Description / Buy at
Fantastic Stories Special - 1975 Sword & Sorcery Annual(1975)Description / Buy at
Six Science Fiction Plays(1975)Description / Buy at
Deadly Arts(1985)Description / Buy at
Tales of Mystery(1986)Description / Buy at
New Trails: Twenty-Three Original Stories(1994)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Short Spy Novels(1996)Description / Buy at
100 Sneaky Little Sleuth Stories(1997)Description / Buy at
Hollywood Fantasies: Ten Surreal Visions of Tinsel Town(1997)Description / Buy at
The Best of the American West II(1999)Description / Buy at
A Century of Great Western Stories(2001)Description / Buy at
The Spider Chronicles(2007)Description / Buy at
Science Fiction Gems, Vol. One(2011)Description / Buy at
Science Fiction Gems, Volume 9(2015)Description / Buy at
Silent Night, Deadly Night(2016)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Lou Largo books were ghostwritten by Jakes and credited to William Ard. Johnny Havoc Meets Zelda was also known as Havoc For Sale. Johnny Havoc and the Doll Who Had ‘It’ was also published as Holiday for Havoc. Making It Big was also published as Johnny Havoc and the Siren in Red. Excalibur! was co-authored with Gil Kane. Savannah: Or a Gift for Mr. Lincoln is also known as Savannah Christmas. The Funeral of Tanner Moody also contains stories by Elmer Kelton and Robert J. Randisi. The Spider Chronicles also contains stories from Mort Castle, Bill Crider, Shannon Denton, Chuck Dixon, Steve Englehart, Ron Fortier, Joe Gentile, Rich Harvey and John Helfers.

If You Like John Jakes Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of John Jakes Books

Leave a Reply