Ian C. Esslemont (Photo Credit: Geraldine Brightwell)
Ian C. Esslemont is a Canadian author of epic fantasy novels. He writes the Malazan Empire series, and co-created the Malaz world alongside Steven Erikson. Esslemont and Erikson created the world as a role-playing game backdrop, and eventually it became a novel. Ian was born in Brandon, Manitoba and grew up in Winnipeg. He has lived in Southeast Asia. Ian lives in Alaska with his wife, fellow novelist Gerri Brightwell.

Ian C. Esslemont made his debut as a novelist in 2004 with the novel Night of Knives. Below is a list of Ian C. Esslemont’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Ian C. Esslemont releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Malazan Empire Books

Night of Knives (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Return of the Crimson Guard (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Stonewielder (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Orb Sceptre Throne (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Blood and Bone (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Assail (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Forge of the High Mage (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Path to Ascendancy Books

Dancer's Lament (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Deadhouse Landing (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Kellanved's Reach (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Forge of the High Mage (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Writing Fantasy Heroes(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Imaginarium 3(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Ian C. Esslemont Books, You’ll Love…

Ian C. Esslemont Synopsis: Night of Knives is the first Malazan Empire novel by Ian C. Esslemont. Although the Empire was named after it, the the tiny island and city of Malaz is now a sleepy, seedy backwater port. However, this night things are a little different. This night its residents are bustling about, barring doors and shuttering windows. Because this night a once-in-a-generation Shadow Moon is due and threatens the good citizens of Malaz with demon hounds and other, darker, beings… And it was also prophesied that on this night the Emperor Kellanved, missing for all these years, would return. As factions within the greater Empire battle over the imperial throne, the Shadow Moon summons a far more alien and ancient presence for an all-out assault upon the island. Indeed, the cataclysmic events that happen this night will determine the fate of the Malaz and of the entire world beyond.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Ian C. Esslemont Books

Leave a Reply