Ishmael Beah is a Sierra Leonean author of literary fiction and non-fiction books. He was born in Sierra Leone, and emigrated to the United States in 1998, where he finished high school. He earned a B.A. in political science from Oberlin College. Ishmael is a member of the Human Rights Watch Children’s Rights Division Advisory Committee and has spoken infront of many non-government organization panels about the affects of war on children. He lives in New York City.

Ishmael Beah made his debut as a published author in 2007 with the memoir A Long Way Gone. Below is a list of Ishmael Beah’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Ishmael Beah releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Radiance of Tomorrow (2014)Description / Buy at
Little Family (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A Long Way Gone (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Freedom(2009)Description / Buy at
Dedicated to the People of Darfur(2009)Description / Buy at

If You Like Ishmael Beah Books, You’ll Love…

Ishmael Beah Synopsis: Radiance of Tomorrow by Ishmael Beah is about Benjamin and Bockarie, two longtime friends who return to their hometown, Imperi, following the civil war. The village is virtually destroyed, and the ground is covered in bones. As more villagers return home, Benjamin and Bockarie try to forge a new community by taking up their former posts as teachers, but they’re beset by obstacles: lack of food; a rash of murders, thievery, rape, and retaliation; and the depredations of a foreign mining company intent on sullying the town’s water supply and blocking its paths with electric wires. As Benjamin and Bockarie search for a way to restore order, they’re forced to reckon with the uncertainty of their past and future alike.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Ishmael Beah Books

Leave a Reply