John Boyne is an Irish author who is best known as the author of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, a book that has sold over seven million copies worldwide. That book was later made into a film starring Asa Butterfield, David Thewlis, and Vera Farmiga. The film was a critical and financial success with Vera Farmiga winning Best Actress at the British Independent Film Awards for her role.

Boyne was born in Dublin, Ireland where he has lived his entire life. He is a graduate of Trinity College Dublin where he earned his BA and the University of East Anglia where he earned his MA. He was later awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Letters from the University of East Anglia.

Get notified when John Boyne releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Thief of Time (2000)Description / Buy at
The Congress of Rough Riders (2001)Description / Buy at
Crippen (2004)Description / Buy at
Next of Kin (2006)Description / Buy at
The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas (2006)Description / Buy at
Mutiny on the Bounty (2008)Description / Buy at
The House of Special Purpose (2009)Description / Buy at
Noah Barleywater Runs Away (2010)Description / Buy at
The Absolutist (2011)Description / Buy at
The Terrible Thing That Happened to Barnaby Brocket (2012)Description / Buy at
This House Is Haunted (2013)Description / Buy at
Stay Where You Are and Then Leave (2013)Description / Buy at
A History of Loneliness (2014)Description / Buy at
The Boy at the Top of the Mountain (2015)Description / Buy at
The Heart's Invisible Furies (2017)Description / Buy at
A Ladder to the Sky (2018)Description / Buy at
My Brother's Name is Jessica (2019)Description / Buy at
A Traveler at the Gates of Wisdom (2020)Description / Buy at
The Echo Chamber (2021)Description / Buy at
All the Broken Places (2022)Description / Buy at
Water (2023)Description / Buy at
Earth (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Collections

Beneath the Earth (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Grist Anthology of New Writing(2009)Description / Buy at
From the Republic of Conscience(2010)Description / Buy at
Dubliners 100(2014)Description / Buy at
Beyond the Stars: Twelve Tales of Adventure, Magic and Wonder(2014)Description / Buy at

If You Like John Boyne Books, You’ll Love…

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas takes place in 1942 Berlin. It follows a boy who returns home one day to find all of his belongings packed in crates. His father has received a promotion and he must move to a house far away. When he gets there he finds no one to play with and no friends. It’s weird because when he looks out his window, he sees hundreds of people in striped pajamas behind the big fence. This is a concentration camp and when the boy becomes friends with a boy in the striped pajamas, it has devastating consequences.

Boyne also wrote The Heart’s Invisible Furies: A Novel which follows a boy named Cyril Avery who knows he is not a real Avery. He’s adopted and his adopted parents like to remind him of this. Avery will spend his entire life trying to figure out who he is. He finds himself adrift in the world, but a close friendship with the glamorous Julian Woodbead will see him through.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of John Boyne Books

Leave a Reply