J.D. Kirk is an award winning author best known for writing the DCI Logan Crime Thrillers series. Kirk is actually a pen name and the author’s real name is Barry Hutchison. Under his real name, he has a great career as a writer of comics as well as working as a screenwriter.

Kirk lives in the Highlands of Scotland. He is married with two children. He has written for most of his life, for fun and professionally, but Litter of Bones, the first book in the DCI Logan Crime Thriller series, was his first novel.

Get notified when JD Kirk releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of DCI Logan Crime Thrillers Books

A Litter of Bones (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Thicker than Water (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Killing Code (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Blood and Treachery (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Last Bloody Straw (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Whisper of Sorrows (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Big Man Upstairs (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Death Most Monumental (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Snowball's Chance in Hell (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Ahead of the Game (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
An Isolated Incident (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Colder than the Grave (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Come Hell or High Water (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
City of Scars (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Here Lie the Dead (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
One For the Ages (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
In Service of Death (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Dead Man Walking (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Where the Pieces Lie (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Killer of Influence (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of DI Heather Filson Books

The One That Got Away (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
This Little Piggy (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Robert Hoon Thrillers Books

If You Like J.D. Kirk Books, You’ll Love…

A Litter of Bones is the first book in the series of DCI Logan books. The story begins ten years ago when Logan stopped a serial killer who focused on children. The killer was known as “Mister Whisper” and the case was really hard on Logan. It ended up costing him his marriage and he developed a big drinking problem. A decade later, he works with Glasgow’s Major Investigations Team, but he is still haunted by all he saw and did back then. Now, another child has disappeared and there are a lot of similarities to his original case. Did he catch the wrong man back then? No matter what the answer, he needs to work fast to catch the killer before they strike again.

Another good book in the series is called A Death Most Monumental. Logan gets a brutal case this time around as the remains of a woman are found hanging from the Glenfinnan Monument in the Highlands of Scotland. As Jack investigates the victim, he finds that this case may have some huge international consequences. The press is watching his every move while a billionaire and former FBI agent are breathing down his neck. Jack has tons of pressure on him in this one.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of J.D. Kirk Books

3 Responses to “Order of J.D. Kirk Books”

  1. Judith Higgs: 2 years ago

    Have listened to all the Jack Logan series apart from Here lie the Dead That’s next on my list also listened to the 3 Hoon books, the stories are great and at times very funny. Such a pleasure, Please keep them coming 🙏,


  2. Rosemary Fowler: 3 years ago

    I have just finished Hell or High Water and thoroughly enjoyed it. I actually have never laughed so much with Dave Davidson going to that Wellness group. What a bunch of gullible idiots! Anyway, I loved the whole series with Jack Logan and Tyler. I’m just hoping you will continue the series.
    Rosemary Fowler.


    • Edythe: 2 years ago

      Hi – I just finished that one and am moving on the to next. I don’t want the series to end – I’ll be reading the Hoon series next.


Leave a Reply