J.J. Salkeld is the pen name of the author Richard Simpson. Prior to writing books, Simpson worked as a national newspaper journalist and was also a documentary film maker. He spent years covering the events of Cumbria, but in his turn to fiction he focused on crime and criminals.

Salkeld is the author of multiple series including the Natural Detective series, the Lakeland Murders series, and the Border City Blues series. As a writer, Salkeld identifies with a strong sense of place and fills his books with well-rounded characters and an over-arching storyline. This approach has led him to strong international success.

Get notified when J.J. Salkeld releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Lakeland Murders Books

Separated at Death (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death on High (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death on Account (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Riddled on the Sands (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Two Towns (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Pale Horse, Dark Horse (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Hail and Farewell (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Mortal Men (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Delayed & Denied (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Half Remembered Life (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death Becomes Him (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Inherit the Earth (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Cumbrian County Lines (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Hall Goes East (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Tom Atkins Books

Trouble in the Wind (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Border City Blues Books

Call & Response (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Devil's Interval (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Blue Notes (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Amen Cadence (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Natural Detective Books

An Invasive Species (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Lamb's Tale (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Wolf at the Gate (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Slip & the Catch (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Here Comes the Flood (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Away From a Manger (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Burnt Offering (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Summer's Grass (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Sins of the Old Fellas (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The MISPER Mystery (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

A Shepherd's Summer (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like J.J. Salkeld Books, You’ll Love…

Separated at Death is the first book in the Lakeland Murders series. The book starts when the teenage daughter of a wealthy family is found dead in the woods. DI Andy Hall is put on the case and this is only the third murder case of his career. He’s finding leads hard to come by and he’s hampered by his own personal life which is in crisis right now. At the same time, his Sergeant has his own case involved a local lad who is moving his way up the ladder of criminality. The connection between the two cases feels possible and Hall is in a rush to crack the case to comfort the victim’s family.

Border City Blues is one of Salkeld’s more popular series and the first book is called Call & Response. The book takes place in Carlisle which is on the border between England and Scotland. DS Samantha Wilson is given a “revenge porn” case involving memoirs of a minority ethnic group. At the same time, one of the young DCs at the department is assaulted close to the new police headquarters. Both cases are delicate and Wilson’s plate is full, just as a dangerous career criminal makes their return to Carlisle.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of J.J. Salkeld Books

One Response to “Order of J.J. Salkeld Books”

  1. Jean Jenn: 3 years ago

    One of my favorite series!

    Anyone know in which book
    Abla Khan is kidnaped?


Leave a Reply