James Crumley (1939-2008) was an American author of hardboiled crime fiction. He’s been described as a cross between Raymond Chandler and Hunter S. Thompson. His novel The Last Good Kiss was referred to as “the most influential crime novel of the last 50 years.” Although praised by his fellow authors, up until about 1990, his books sold more in Japan and France than they did Stateside.

James Crumley made his debut as a published novelist in 1969 with the book One to Count Cadence. Below is a list of James Crumley’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Milo Milodragovitch Books

The Wrong Case (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dancing Bear (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Final Country (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of C.W. Sughrue Books

The Last Good Kiss (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Mexican Tree Duck (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Bordersnakes (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Right Madness (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

One to Count Cadence (1969)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Whores (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Muddy Fork & Other Things (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Murder For Love(1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Best American Mystery Stories 1997(1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Putt at the End of the World(2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Mysterious Press Anniversary Anthology: Celebrating 25 Years(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Measures of Poison(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Best American Mystery Stories 2003(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Lone Star Noir(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Contrappasso Magazine, Issue 1(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Books to Die For(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: The Putt at the End of the World also contains contributions from Lee K. Abbott, Dave Barry, Richard Bausch, James W. Hall, Tami Hoag, Tim O’Brien, Ridley Pearson and Les Standiford.

If You Like James Crumley Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Authors » Order of James Crumley Books

One Response to “Order of James Crumley Books”

  1. S_Pofcher: 5 years ago

    I’m here hoping to find a James Crumley book I have not read. However, it looks like a hope of desperation.


Leave a Reply