George P. Pelecanos is an American novelist of detective fiction. His novels usually take place in Washington D.C. (his hometown). His characters include Nick Stefanos, D.C. Quartet and Derek Strange. Aside from being an author, Pelecanos also works as a TV writer, TV producer and as a film producer.

Pelecanos became a published author in 1992 when he began the Nick Stefanos series with A Firing Offense. Below is a list of George Pelecanos’ books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when George Pelecanos releases a new book at

Publication Order of Nick Stefanos Books

A Firing Offense (1992)Description / Buy at
Nick's Trip (1993)Description / Buy at
Down by the River Where the Dead Men Go (1995)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of D.C. Quartet Books

The Big Blowdown (1996)Description / Buy at
King Suckerman (1997)Description / Buy at
The Sweet Forever (1998)Description / Buy at
Shame the Devil (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Derek Strange & Terry Quinn Books

Publication Order of Spero Lucas Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Shoedog (1994)Description / Buy at
Drama City (2005)Description / Buy at
The Night Gardener (2006)Description / Buy at
The Turnaround (2008)Description / Buy at
The Way Home (2009)Description / Buy at
The Man Who Came Uptown (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Dead Their Eyes Implore Us (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Anthologies

Measures of Poison(2002)Description / Buy at
D.C. Noir(2005)Description / Buy at
D.C. Noir 2(2008)Description / Buy at
The Best American Mystery Stories 2008(2008)Description / Buy at
USA Noir(2013)Description / Buy at
The Highway Kind(2016)Description / Buy at

If You Like George P. Pelecanos Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of George P. Pelecanos Books

One Response to “Order of George P. Pelecanos Books”

  1. Janice Kruse: 3 years ago

    In your book,”The Man Who Came Uptown”, several books were mentioned. I’ve managed to find a few, but can’t find The Passenger or Hard Rain Falling. Can you tell me the author of “The Passenger”? I will eventually find Carpenter’s “Hard Rain Falling, but I thik it’s going to take some time.
    Thank you.


Leave a Reply