James Ellroy is an American author of noir crime fiction and historical mystery novels. He is best known for his unique style of prose where he leaves connecting words out and writes in short sentences. He was able to condense his novel White Jazz from 900 pages to 350 by simply eliminating verbs, rather than eliminating any subplots. He is best known for his L.A. Quartet and Underworld USA Trilogy.

James Ellroy became a published author in 1981 with the standalone title Brown’s Requiem. Below is a list of James Ellroy’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when James Ellroy releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Lloyd Hopkins Books

Blood on the Moon (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Because the Night (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Suicide Hill (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of L.A. Quartet Books

The Black Dahlia (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Big Nowhere (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
L.A. Confidential (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
White Jazz (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Second L.A. Quartet Books

Publication Order of Underworld U.S.A. Books

American Tabloid (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Cold Six Thousand (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Blood's A Rover (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Brown's Requiem (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Clandestine (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Killer on the Road / Silent Terror (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Widespread Panic (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Enchanters (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Dick Contino's Blues and Other Stories (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Hollywood Nocturnes (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Crime Wave (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Destination (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Best American Mystery Stories Anthologies

The Best American Mystery Stories 3 (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Best American Noir of the Century (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

Pulp Frictions: Hardboiled Stories(1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Writing Los Angeles(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Best American Crime Writing 2005(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Los Angeles Noir 2(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Books to Die For(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: Killer on the Road was also published under the title Silent Terror. Dick Contino’s Blues and Other Stories was also published as Hollywood Nocturnes. All anthologies are edited with Otto Penzler.

If You Like James Ellroy Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Authors » Order of James Ellroy Books

One Response to “Order of James Ellroy Books”

  1. Buck Stodgers: 5 years ago

    Perfidia is not standalone.


Leave a Reply