James L. Nelson is an Amerian author and lifelong sailor. His books are considered maritime fiction and history of which he is the author of over twenty works.

Nelson had an interest in boats and maritime from a young age, but he ended up going to UCLA to study motion picture and television production. It was at college that he began sailing with the school’s sailing club. He tried to make his degree work for a bit, but he was drawn more and more to sailing. He began taking jobs on sailing crews and traveled all over. Which led to a long love of sailing and, eventually, his maritime fiction.

Get notified when James L. Nelson releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Blood, Steel, and Empire Books

The Buccaneer Coast (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Isaac Biddlecomb Books

By Force of Arms (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Maddest Idea (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Continental Risque (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Lords of the Ocean (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
All the Brave Fellows (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Falmouth Frigate (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Thomas Marlowe Books

The Guardship (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Blackbirder (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Pirate Round (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Samuel Bowater Books

Glory in the Name (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Thieves of Mercy (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of The Norsemen Saga Books

Fin Gall (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dubh-linn (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Lord of Vik-lo (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Glendalough Fair (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Night Wolf (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Raider's Wake (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Loch Garman (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Vengeful Wind (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Kings and Pawns (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Midgard Serpent of Viking Age England (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Narrow Seas (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Caleb Hayes Books

Full Fathom Five (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The French Prize (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Only Life That Mattered (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Reign of Iron (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Benedict Arnold's Navy (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
George Washington's Secret Navy (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
George Washington's Great Gamble (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
With Fire and Sword (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like James L. Nelson Books, You’ll Love…

The Guardship is the first book in the Brethren of the Coast. The story is set in 1701 at a time when piracy was a big problem. Thomas Marlowe has arrived in Williamsburg where he hopes to renounce his pirate ways and live a normal life. He finds a new wife, but quickly gets his name known around town when he kills a powerful young man. That doesn’t matter though as there are cutthroat pirates heading this way and the locals need his help to defend Virginia.

Nelson also wrote the Norsemen Saga and the first book is Fin Gall: A Novel of Viking Age Ireland. The book tells of a group of Vikings who raid a ship and get a valuable crown. The crown has a certain significance to the Irish people and the power it grants to those who wear it. Meanwhile, there is war between the Irish and the Danes. Thogrim will lead his invaders into Ireland where some very angry locals are ready to fight for the crown. Thogrim’s Fin Gall are in the fight for their lives as both Irish and Dane want the dead.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of James L. Nelson Books

Leave a Reply