J.D. Salinger (1919-2010) was an American author, best known for his novel The Catcher in the Rye. Salinger created his Holden Caulfield character in the short story Slight Rebellion off Madison and after World War II, began working on his signature novel. The Catcher in the Rye was originally written for adults, but became popular with young adults for its themes of teenage angst, confusion and rebellion. Salinger lived most of his life trying to escape the public eye. He died in 2010 of natural causes.

J.D. Salinger’s first and only published novel was The Catcher in the Rye in 1951. According to a neighbour, Salinger had written 15 unpublished novels, but preferred not to have them published. Below is a list of J.D. Salinger’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Catcher in the Rye (1951)Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Nine Stories (1953)Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price
For Esmé - with Love and Squalor (1953)Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price
Raise High the Roof Beam, Carpenters and Seymour (1955)Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price
Franny and Zooey (1961)Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price

If You Like J.D. Salinger Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Authors » Order of J.D. Salinger Books

One Response to “Order of J.D. Salinger Books”

  1. Gary W Harper: 2 years ago

    This is sort of correct.

    As of 2004, 15 books were finished, of which he expected to probably not ever change a single word of; another 2, were very close to that status; and an additional 2, were nearing their final stages. He was working on at least 3 others, which were pretty well advanced, and coming into their final form. Another 2, were pretty well along. There is a wealth of other material, some of it only a page or 3 in length, or even single sentences on pieces of paper. The books, were all filed; and the files, are color coded – To be published 5 years, after my death; 10 years; and so on. Didn’t Margot tell you all something about this, in Dream Catcher?

    They all are written for the simple pleasure of writing, alone. And they are written for an audience, of the one. So be prepared for a precipitous, weightless fall down the rabbit-hole of an underlying spirituality, as it is expressed through individuals who sometimes come close to, but never really fully 100% understand one another, as they get in their own way, in the attempt to do so.
    They can barely understand, themselves – Except, for the one. Expect, your fully-hidden, messianic character. I can say, that none of it, is what you expected; and that none of it, should be entirely unexpected.

    No, I have not read any of it; but I did hear about it, straight from the horse’s mouth.


Leave a Reply