Jeannette Walls (Photo Credit: John Taylor)
Jeannette Walls is an American author of fiction and non-fiction. She is also a journalist, who formerly worked as a gossip columnist for Jeannette is a New York Times bestselling author. Growing up, her family moved around from place to place – living in places like Phoenix, San Francisco, Nevada and West Virginia. Other times, they were homeless. Eventually, in West Virginia, they had three rooms, no plumbing or heat, but they did have snakes and rats. Jeannette moved to New York City where she finished high school and worked at a law firm on Wall Street. She graduated from Barnard College in 1984, with honours. Jeannette lives on a 205-acre farm in Virginia with her husband, John J. Taylor, and her mother.

Jeannette Walls made her debut as an author in 2000 with the non-fiction book Dish. Her debut as a novelist was in 2009 for the true-life novel Half Broke Horses. Below is a list of Jeannette Walls’ books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Jeannette Walls releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Half Broke Horses (2008)Description / Buy at
The Silver Star (2013)Description / Buy at
Hang the Moon (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

If You Like Jeannette Walls Books, You’ll Love…

Jeannette Walls Synopsis: The Silver Star is a standalone novel by Jeannette Walls. It is 1970 in a small town in California. “Bean” Holladay is twelve and her sister, Liz, is fifteen when their artistic mother, Charlotte, takes off to find herself, leaving her girls enough money to last a month or two. When Bean returns from school one day and sees a police car outside the house, she and Liz decide to take the bus to Virginia, where their widowed Uncle Tinsley lives in the decaying mansion that’s been in Charlotte’s family for generations. An impetuous optimist, Bean soon discovers who her father was, and hears stories about why their mother left Virginia in the first place. Money is tight, and the sisters start babysitting and doing office work for Jerry Maddox, foreman of the mill in town, who bullies his workers, his tenants, his children, and his wife. Liz is whip-smart – an inventor of word games, reader of Edgar Allan Poe, nonconformist. But when school starts in the fall, it’s Bean who easily adjusts, and Liz who becomes increasingly withdrawn. And then something happens to Liz in the car with Maddox.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jeannette Walls Books

Leave a Reply