Jennifer De Leon is an American author of YA novels. She was born in the Boston area to immigrant parents from Guatemala. She graduated from Connecticut College with a degree in International Relations (spending two semesters abroad), and has also earned her MA in Teaching from the University of San Francisco, and an MFA in Creative Writing from UMASS-Boston. Jennifer’s stories and essays have bene published in over a dozen literary magazines and anthologies. She spent a decade teaching in public schools, and is now an Assistant Professor of English at Framingham State University. Jennifer lives in the Boston area.

Jennifer De Leon made her debut as a novelist in 2020 with the young adult novel Don’t Ask Me Where I’m From. She had published a children’s book and a collection of essays prior to that. Below is a list of Jennifer De Leon’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Jennifer De Leon releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Don't Ask Me Where I'm From (2020)Description / Buy at
Borderless (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Children's Books

The Hunter's Guide to Tall Tales (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Collections

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

White Space: Essays on Culture, Race,Writing (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

All the Women in My Family Sing(2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Jennifer De Leon Books, You’ll Love…

Jennifer De Leon Synopsis: Wise Latinas is a collection of essays edited by Jennifer De Leon. College can be a complex time for Latinas, who are traditionally expected to leave home when they get married. In her essay “Only Daughter,” author Sandra Cisneros remarks, “After four years in college and two more in graduate school, and still no husband, my father shakes his head even now and says I wasted all that education.”

This collection addresses the varied landscape of the Latina experience in higher education. For some Latinas, college, where they are vastly underrepresented, is the first time they are immersed in American culture outside their homes – and where the values of two cultures have been known to clash.

Featuring acclaimed writers such as Sandra Cisneros, Norma Cantú, and Julia Alvarez, to name a few, Wise Latinas shows that there is no one Latina college experience. With thoughtful and engaging pieces, Wise Latinas provides a platform for Latina writers to share their experiences in higher education and gives a voice to the many Latina women who have taken risks; embraced the new, confronted change; and maintained (and in some cases found) their roots.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jennifer De Leon Books

Leave a Reply