Jennifer Steil is an American author of fiction and non-fiction books. She has lived in several different countries. She edited a newspaper in Yemen, where she lived for four years. She was pregnant when she was kidnapped, which became the beginning of her novel The Ambassador’s Wife. Later, she and her infant daughter were evacuated after her British diplomat husband was attacked by a suicide bomber. She has moved around a lot since, drawing from these experiences for her novels.

Jennifer Steil made her debut as an author in 2010 with the non-fiction book The Woman Who Fell from the Sky. She made her debut in fiction with the 2015 novel The Ambassador’s Wife. Below is a list of Jennifer Steil’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Jennifer Steil releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Ambassador's Wife (2015)Description / Buy at
Exile Music (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Woman Who Fell from the Sky: An American Journalist In Yemen (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Healing Visions(2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like Jennifer Steil Books, You’ll Love…

Jennifer Steil Synopsis: The Ambassador’s Wife is a standalone novel by Jennifer Steil. When bohemian artist Miranda falls in love with Finn, the British ambassador to an Arab country, she finds herself thrust into a life for which she was not ready for. The couple and their toddler daughter live in a stately mansion with a staff to meet their every need, but for Miranda even this luxury comes at a price: her freedom. Trailed everywhere by bodyguards to protect her from the dangers of a country wracked by civil war and forced to give up work she loves, she finds her world shattered when she is taken hostage, an act of terror with wide-reaching consequences.

Diplomatic life is a far cry from Miranda’s first years in Mazrooq, which were spent painting and mentoring a group of young Muslim women, teaching them to draw in ways forbidden in their culture. As it turns out, Finn and Miranda’s idealism and secrets they have each attempted to hide have placed them and those who trust them in peril. And when Miranda grows close to a child who shares her captivity, it is not clear that even being set free would restore the simple happiness that once was hers and Finn’s.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jennifer Steil Books

Leave a Reply