Jerry Spinelli is a Newberry Award winning author who is best known for writing Maniac Magee and Stargirl. He writes children’s novels that focus on the period around adolescence and adulthood.

Spinelli got a great start in writing as when he was 16 his school’s football team got a huge victory. Instead of going out and celebrating, he went home and composed a poem about the game. His father liked it so much that he got it published in the local paper which helped to inspire him to become a writer in his future. He attended Gettysburg College where he wrote short stories and worked as editor for the college literary magazine. It took him a few years after graduation to get published as numerous adult novels he wrote were rejected, but his fifth novel was Space Station Seventh Grade and he became published in 1982.

Get notified when Jerry Spinelli releases a new book at

Publication Order of Space Station Seventh Grade Books

Space Station Seventh Grade (1982)Description / Buy at
Jason and Marceline (1986)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Fourth Grade Rats Books

Fourth Grade Rats (1991)Description / Buy at
Third Grade Angels (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Tooter Tale Books

Tooter Pepperday (1995)Description / Buy at
Blue Ribbon Blues (1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Stargirl Books

Publication Order of School Daze Books

Report to the Principal's Office! (1991)Description / Buy at
Who Ran My Underwear up the Flagpole? (1992)Description / Buy at
Do the Funky Pickle (1992)Description / Buy at
Picklemania (1993)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Who Put That Hair in My Toothbrush? (1984)Description / Buy at
Night of the Whale (1988)Description / Buy at
Maniac Magee (1990)Description / Buy at
The Bathwater Gang (1990)Description / Buy at
Dump Days (1991)Description / Buy at
There's a Girl in My Hammerlock (1991)Description / Buy at
The Bathwater Gang Gets Down to Business (1992)Description / Buy at
Crash / The Mighty Crashman (1996)Description / Buy at
Wringer (1997)Description / Buy at
The Library Card (1997)Description / Buy at
Smiles to Go (2000)Description / Buy at
Loser (2002)Description / Buy at
Milkweed (2003)Description / Buy at
Eggs (2007)Description / Buy at
Jake and Lily (2012)Description / Buy at
Hokey Pokey (2013)Description / Buy at
The Warden's Daughter (2017)Description / Buy at
Dead Wednesday (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

My Daddy and Me (2003)Description / Buy at
I Can Be Anything! (2010)Description / Buy at
Mama Seeton's Whistle (2015)Description / Buy at
My Fourth of July (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Knots in My Yo-Yo String (1998)Description / Buy at
Stargirl Journal (2007)Description / Buy at
Today I Will (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

It's Fine to Be Nine(2000)Description / Buy at
Baseball Crazy(2008)Description / Buy at
Half-Minute Horrors(2009)Description / Buy at

If You Like Jerry Spinelli Books, You’ll Love…

Stargirl is the first book in the series of the same name. From the first day at Mica High, Stargirl bursts into the lives of the students. She manages to lead a revolution of school spirit with just one cheer, she captures the heart of Leo Borlock, and the whole school is enchanted by Stargirl. Until they’re not. They turn on her in an instant and she is shunned for the things that make her different. Leo is worried and desperate with love so he encourages her to become something that would destroy her: normal.

The Newberry Medal Award winning Maniac Magee is one of Spinelli’s best known books. The book tells the story of Jeffrey Lionel “Maniac” Magee who is a bit of an urban legend in his hometown. He lost his parents due to a freak accident when he was young and that has made him into a different kind of kid. One day Magee decides to run. A lot. As he does and gets into all sorts of adventures, his legend grows as he deals with a difficult life in this small, racially divided town.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jerry Spinelli Books

Leave a Reply