JM Gregson
J.M. Gregson is a British author of mystery novels. He writes Lambert & Hook series and the Inspector Peach series. Gregson taught at every level of education for 27 years before becoming a novelist. He has included a diverse number of themes, such as golf and Shakespeare.

J.M. Gregson made his debut as a published novelist in 1989 with the novel Murder at the Nineteenth. Below is a list of J.M. Gregson’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when J.M. Gregson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Lambert and Hook Books

Murder at the Nineteenth (1989)Description / Buy at
Making a Killing / For Sale - With Corpse (1990)Description / Buy at
Bring Forth Your Dead (1991)Description / Buy at
Dead on Course (1991)Description / Buy at
Stranglehold (1993)Description / Buy at
The Fox in the Forest (1994)Description / Buy at
Watermarked (1994)Description / Buy at
Death of a Nobody (1995)Description / Buy at
Accident by Design (1996)Description / Buy at
Girl Gone Missing (1998)Description / Buy at
Malice Aforethought (1999)Description / Buy at
An Unsuitable Death (2000)Description / Buy at
An Academic Death (2001)Description / Buy at
Death on the Eleventh Hole (2002)Description / Buy at
Body Politic (2003)Description / Buy at
Mortal Taste (2003)Description / Buy at
Just Desserts (2004)Description / Buy at
Too Much of Water (2005)Description / Buy at
Close Call (2006)Description / Buy at
Something Is Rotten (2007)Description / Buy at
A Good Walk Spoiled (2008)Description / Buy at
Darkness Visible (2009)Description / Buy at
In Vino Veritas (2010)Description / Buy at
Die Happy (2011)Description / Buy at
More Than Meets The Eye (2012)Description / Buy at
Cry of The Children (2013)Description / Buy at
Rest Assured (2014)Description / Buy at
Skeleton Plot (2015)Description / Buy at
Final Act (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Inspector Peach Books

Who Saw Him Die? (1994)Description / Buy at
Missing, Presumed Dead (1997)Description / Buy at
To Kill a Wife (1999)Description / Buy at
A Turbulent Priest (2000)Description / Buy at
The Lancashire Leopard (2001)Description / Buy at
A Little Learning (2002)Description / Buy at
Murder at the Lodge (2003)Description / Buy at
Wages of Sin (2004)Description / Buy at
Dusty Death (2005)Description / Buy at
The Witch's Sabbath (2006)Description / Buy at
Remains to Be Seen (2007)Description / Buy at
Pastures New (2008)Description / Buy at
Wild Justice (2009)Description / Buy at
Only A Game (2010)Description / Buy at
Merely Players (2011)Description / Buy at
Least of Evils (2012)Description / Buy at
Brothers' Tears (2013)Description / Buy at
A Necessary End (2015)Description / Buy at
Backhand Smash (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Sherlock Holmes and the Frightened Golfer (1999)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Sergeant Gregson's War (2016)Description / Buy at

Note: For Sale – With Corpse was also published as Making a Killing. Sergeant Gregson’s War was written as Jim Gregson.

If You Like J.M. Gregson Books, You’ll Love…

J.M. Gregson Synopses: Who Saw Him Die? is the first Inspector Peach novel by J.M. Gregson. The uneasy peace between a widower and his son, who helps ex-cons rebuild their lives by letting them move into the family home, shatters when two suspicious deaths rock the neighbourhood.

Missing, Presumed Dead by J.M. Gregson is book 2 in the Inspector Peach series. Detective Inspector Percy Peach is feared greatly by the petty criminals of Lancashire – and not a little by his own chief, the feeble Superintendent Tucker. Peach finds to his disgust that his new detective sergeant is to be a woman. However, the capable and resourceful Lucy Blake proves, as the tale proceeds, to be more than a match for the formidable Peach. Their initial assignment is a baffling one. A nineteen year old girl has disappeared without warning from her home. Two years later, her body is found at the bottom of a deep pond on the North Lancashire golf course. Peach and Blake, in finding out about those who are close to her in her last months, begin to work out their own relationship and find it may after all be a rewarding one. The solution to the mystery is as unexpected as it is chilling and convincing.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of J.M. Gregson Books

Leave a Reply