Joe Ide is a Japanese-American author who has been called the “best thing to happen to mystery writing in a long time.” He grew up loving the Sherlock Holmes stories of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and that shows in the books the he has written, the critically acclaimed novels IQ, Righteous, and Wrecked.

Joe Ide grew up in South Central Los Angeles during the tumultuous time of the 1970s. After the Watts riots when the area was overwhelmingly poor and black. He had almost exclusively black friends growing up which helped form the characters that he now writes about.

Get notified when Joe Ide releases a new book at

Publication Order of IQ Books

Publication Order of Philip Marlowe Books

The Big Sleep (By: Raymond Chandler) (1939)Description / Buy at
Farewell, My Lovely (By: Raymond Chandler) (1940)Description / Buy at
The High Window (By: Raymond Chandler) (1942)Description / Buy at
The Lady in the Lake (By: Raymond Chandler) (1943)Description / Buy at
The Little Sister (By: Raymond Chandler) (1949)Description / Buy at
The Long Goodbye (By: Raymond Chandler) (1953)Description / Buy at
Playback (By: Raymond Chandler) (1958)Description / Buy at
Poodle Springs (By: Robert B. Parker,Raymond Chandler) (1989)Description / Buy at
Perchance to Dream (By: Robert B. Parker) (1991)Description / Buy at
The Black-Eyed Blonde (By: Benjamin Black) (2014)Description / Buy at
Only to Sleep (By: Lawrence Osborne) (2018)Description / Buy at
The Goodbye Coast (2022)Description / Buy at
The Second Murderer (By: Denise Mina) (2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like Joe Ide Books, You’ll Love…

IQ was his first book and the first of the series. This book introduces to Isiah, a character that is known around town as IQ. He lives in East Long Beach where there is a high crime rate that the LAPD can’t possibly keep up with. Instead of doing nothing about it, he goes about solving these crimes himself. In this introductory novel, he charges people whatever they can pay, but when a rap mogul’s life is in danger – he takes the case. He finds a deep web of suspects each more dangerous than the last.

Righteous is the second novel in the series. This one takes on a more personal nature for Isiah. Ten years ago, his brother was gunned down by an unknown killer and his search for him nearly destroyed his life. Despite the success in his life and relative happiness, he can’t help but think back to his brother and re-opens the case. The search takes him to Las Vegas where he unfortunately gets mixed up with some dangerous Chinese gangsters. Packed with suspense and page-turning twists, the IQ series has a worthy follow-up in this book.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Joe Ide Books

One Response to “Order of Joe Ide Books”

  1. chris: 4 years ago

    This series is the best new one in a long time. having lived not too far from south central, the locations ( and vibes thereof ) rting true. Not a stumble anywhere in plotting, characters, etc. can’t wait for book #5 ! !


Leave a Reply