John Darnielle is an American author of horror novels. He is also a musician and primary member of the band The Mountain Goats. In addition to these endeavours, John is also a podcaster and activist. John currently resides in Durham, North Carolina with his wife, Lalitree, and their two sons.

John Darnielle made his debut as an author in 2008 with the non-fiction title Black Sabbath’s Master of Reality. In 2013, he made his debut as a novelist with Wolf in White Van. Below is a list of John Darnielle’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when John Darnielle releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Wolf in White Van (2014)Description / Buy at
Universal Harvester (2017)Description / Buy at
Devil House (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Master of Reality (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Topograph: New Writing from the Carolinas and the Landscape Beyond(2010)Description / Buy at

If You Like John Darnielle Books, You’ll Love…

John Darnielle Synopsis: Wolf in White Van by John Darnielle is a standalone novel. Isolated by a disfiguring injury since he was 17, Sean Phillips crafts imaginary worlds for strangers to play in. From his small apartment in southern California, he orchestrates fantastic adventures where possibilities, both dark and bright, open in the boundaries between the real and the imagined. As the creator of Trace Italian – a text-based, role-playing game by-mail – Sean guides players from around the world through his intricately imagined terrain, which they navigate and explore, turn by turn, seeking sanctuary in a ravaged, savage future America.

Lance and Carrie are high school students from Florida, explorers of the Trace. But when they take their play into the real world, disaster strikes, and Sean is called to account for it. In the process, he is pulled back through time, tunneling toward the moment of his own self-inflicted departure from the world in which most people live.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of John Darnielle Books

Leave a Reply