John E. Douglas is an American author of true crime non-fiction books and crime thriller novels. He is a former FBI agent and one of the first criminal profilers. Douglas started out as a sniper, and later hostage negotiator. He was later transferred to the Behavioral Science Unit, where he taught hostage negotiation and criminal psychology. He began and managed the Criminal Profiling Program at the FBI, travelling the country in order to interview serial killers, assassins, and violent sex offenders such as David Berkowitz, Ted Bundy, John Wayne Gacy, Charles Manson, Edmund Kemper, James Earl Ray, Sirhan Sirhan, Richard Speck, Gary Ridgway, and others. He has been the basis of several fictional characters, including Jack Crawford in The Silence of the Lambs by Thomas Harris and most recently Holden Ford in the Netflix show Mindhunter.

John E. Douglas made his debut as an author in 1995 with the non-fiction book Mindhunter. Below is a list of John E. Douglas’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when John E. Douglas releases a new book at

Publication Order of Broken Wings Books

Publication Order of Mindhunter Books

(with Mark Olshaker)

Mindhunter (1995)Description / Buy at
Journey Into Darkness (1997)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Crime Classification Manual (1992)Description / Buy at
Pocket Guide to the Crime Classification Manual (1992)Description / Buy at
Sexual Homicide (1993)Description / Buy at
Unabomber (1996)Description / Buy at
Obsession (With: Mark Olshaker) (1998)Description / Buy at
John Douglas's Guide to Careers in the FBI (1998)Description / Buy at
The Anatomy of Motive (With: Mark Olshaker) (1999)Description / Buy at
The Cases That Haunt Us (With: Mark Olshaker) (2000)Description / Buy at
Anyone You Want Me to Be: A True Story of Sex and Death on the Internet (2003)Description / Buy at
John Douglas's Guide to Landing a Career in Law Enforcement (2004)Description / Buy at
Inside the Mind of BTK (2007)Description / Buy at
Law and Disorder (2013)Description / Buy at
The Killer Across the Table (With: Mark Olshaker) (2019)Description / Buy at
The Killer's Shadow (With: Mark Olshaker) (2020)Description / Buy at
When a Killer Calls (With: Mark Olshaker) (2022)Description / Buy at

Notes: The novel Broken Wings, along with the non-fiction books Mindhunter, Journey into Darkness, The Anatomy of Motive, The Cases That Haunt Us, Obsession, Law and Disorder, The Killer Across the Table, and The Killer’s Shadow were co-authored by Mark Olshaker. The Forgotten Killer was co-authored by Douglas Preston.

If You Like John E. Douglas Books, You’ll Love…

John E. Douglas Synopsis: Broken Wings is a standalone novel by John Douglas and Mark Olshaker. When the director of the FBI (also his former boss), turns up dead, former profiler John Chase comes out of retirement to investigate and finds himself facing off against a ruthless and clever opponent.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of John E. Douglas Books

Leave a Reply