Thomas Harris is an American novelist of suspense, horror and crime fiction. He is best known for creating the Hannibal Lecter character. Interestingly, the act of writing to him is “kind of like an act of torment,” remarked fellow author Stephen King. Harris is a private person and has not given an interview since 1976.

Thomas Harris became a published author in 1975 with the novel Black Sunday. It is his only standalone title to date. Below is a list of Thomas Harris’ books in order of when they were originally published (as well as in chronological order):

Get notified when Thomas Harris releases a new book at

Publication Order of Hannibal Lecter Books

Red Dragon (1981)Description / Buy at
The Silence of the Lambs (1988)Description / Buy at
Hannibal (1999)Description / Buy at
Hannibal Rising (2006)Description / Buy at

Chronological Order of Hannibal Lecter Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Anthologies

If You Like Thomas Harris Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Thomas Harris Books

Leave a Reply