John Lantigua is an American author of crime fiction and thriller novels. He is a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist. John was born in the Bronx to a Puerto Rican mother and Cuban father. He only spoke Spanish until his family moved to New Jersey when was four years old. He began working as a journalist when he was 21, which he has been doing ever since – with the exception of a two-year span that he spent working as a mountain guide, and teaching English and theatre in Mexico. John lives in Florida, and has three children and two granddaughters.

John Lantigua made his debut as a novelist in 1987 with the novel Heat Lightning. Below is a list of John Lantigua’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when John Lantigua releases a new book at

Publication Order of Willie Cuesta Mystery Books

Player's Vendetta (1999)Description / Buy at
The Ultimate Havana (2001)Description / Buy at
The Lady from Buenos Aires (2007)Description / Buy at
On Hallowed Ground (2011)Description / Buy at
Remember My Face (2020)Description / Buy at
In the War Zone of the Heart (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Heat Lightning (1987)Description / Buy at
Burn Season (1989)Description / Buy at
Twister (1992)Description / Buy at
The Big Split of the Near Future (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Smuggled Across the U.S. - Mexican Border (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

...And the Dying is Easy(2001)Description / Buy at
Black Cat Weekly #40(2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like John Lantigua Books, You’ll Love…

  • Claudia Piñeiro
  • Patricia Melo
  • Ernesto Mallo

John Lantigua Synopses: Heat Lightning is a standalone novel by John Lantigua. The book follows San Francisco homicide detective David Cruz, who uncovers a complex tangle of blood feuds, betrayal, vengeance, and madness as he investigates the murder of an attractive young Latin woman.

Burn Season is a thriller by John Lantigua. A veteran of Nicaragua’s civil war opens a Costa Rican nightclub, determined to stay out of Nicaragua’s ugly politics. However, the war catches up with him when a spy is blown up outside the club.

Twister is a standalone title by John Lantigua. A journalist is looking into a series of mysterious deaths occurring in a dried-up oil town on the border of Mexico and finds that greed has become more threatening to the town than the deadly black tornado.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of John Lantigua Books

Leave a Reply