John P. Marquand (1893-1960) was an American author of spy thriller, mystery and literary fiction novels. He wrote the Mr. Moto series. He was educated at Harvard University, and got an editorial position at the Harvard Lampoon before graduating in 1915. Marquand went onto work for the Boston Evening Transcript before his military unit was sent to the Mexican border in 1916. He then worked as an advertising copywriter prior to becoming a novelist with The Unspeakable Gentleman. Marquand won a Pulitzer Prize in 1938 for his novel The Late George Apley.

John P. Marquand made his debut as a published author in 1922 with the novel The Unspeakable Gentleman. Below is a list of John P. Marquand’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Mr. Moto Books

Your Turn, Mr. Moto / No Hero / Mr. Moto Takes a Hand (1935)Description / Buy at
Thank You, Mr. Moto (1936)Description / Buy at
Think Fast, Mr. Moto (1937)Description / Buy at
Mr. Moto is So Sorry (1938)Description / Buy at
Last Laugh, Mr. Moto (1942)Description / Buy at
Right You Are, Mr. Moto (1957)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Unspeakable Gentleman (1922)Description / Buy at
Four of a Kind (1923)Description / Buy at
Do Tell Me, Doctor Johnson (1928)Description / Buy at
Haven's End (1929)Description / Buy at
Ming Yellow (1935)Description / Buy at
The Late George Apley (1937)Description / Buy at
Wickford Point (1939)Description / Buy at
H.M. Pulham, Esq. (1942)Description / Buy at
So Little Time (1943)Description / Buy at
Repent in Haste (1945)Description / Buy at
B.F.'s Daughter (1946)Description / Buy at
Point of No Return (1949)Description / Buy at
It's Loaded Mr. Bauer (1949)Description / Buy at
Melville Goodwin, USA (1952)Description / Buy at
Sincerely, Willis Wayde (1956)Description / Buy at
Life At Happy Knoll. (1957)Description / Buy at
Women and Thomas Harrow (1960)Description / Buy at
Warning Hill (1964)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Black Cargo (1925)Description / Buy at
Lord Timothy Dexter of Newburyport, Massachusetts (1925)Description / Buy at
Timothy Dexter Revisited (1960)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Black Cat Weekly #29(2022)Description / Buy at

Notes: Your Turn, Mr. Moto was also published as No Hero and as Mr. Moto Takes a Hand. Right You Are, Mr. Moto was also published under the titles of Stopover: Tokyo and The Last of Mr. Moto.

If You Like John P. Marquand Books, You’ll Love…

John P. Marquand Synopsis: Sincerely, Willis Wayde is a standalone novel by John P. Marquand. When Willis Wayde first lays eyes on the Harcourt mansion near Clyde, Massachusetts, he is fifteen years old. His father is an engineer at Harcourt Mill, and Willis is awestruck by the family’s wealth and power. Seeking guidance from Henry Harcourt, Willis meets Bess, the old man’s granddaughter. Their friendship eventually blossoms into love as the elder Harcourt takes the young man under his wing, recognizing in Willis a kindred spirit whose instinct for making money matches his own. Pleased with his good fortune, Willis is nevertheless acutely aware of the great social gulf that separates the Waydes from the Harcourts. Determined to make his own way, he sets out on a path that will take him far beyond New England and the insular, old-money world of Henry and Bess. Then the Depression hits, wiping out the Harcourt family fortune. When he comes back into their life, Willis has the power to rescue the last vestige of the family’s prestige: the mill. Torn between his nostalgia for a simpler, more sentimental time and his sharply honed business acumen, Willis must make a fateful decision.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of John P. Marquand Books

Leave a Reply