AB Guthrie Jr
A.B. Guthrie, Jr. (1901-1991) was an American novelist of western fiction in addition to being a screenwriter. Guthrie grew up reading, and tried to write fiction in high school. He went on to major in journalism and then started working at the Lexington Leader – a job he held for 22 years before he started writing fiction, which he started to do during his afternoons off. He wrote one series, the Sheriff Chick Charleston series. Guthrie was awarded a Pulitzer Prize for fiction for the novel The Way West and was nominated for an Academy Award for the screenplay to the classic film Shane (based on Jack Schaefer‘s novel).

A.B. Guthrie, Jr. made his debut as a novelist in 1943 with the novel Murders at Moon Dance, a western mystery. His final novel was 1989’s Murder in the Cotswolds and his final published work was the non-fiction book A Field Guide to Writing Fiction. Below is a list of A.B. Guthrie’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Sheriff Chick Charleston Mysteries Books

Wild Pitch (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Genuine Article (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
No Second Wind (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Playing Catch-Up (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Murder in the Cotswolds (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of The Big Sky Books

The Big Sky (1947)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Way West (1949)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Fair Land, Fair Land (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Murders at Moon Dance (1943)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Twenty-Six Years After (1949)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Kentucky (1951)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
These Thousand Hills (1956)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The West Is Our Great Adventure of the Spirit (1959)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Arfive (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Once Upon a Pond (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Last Valley (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Four Miles From Ear Mountain (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Big It and Other Stories (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Blue Hen's Chick (1965)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Big Sky, Fair Land (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Images from the Great West (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Field Guide to Writing Fiction (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: The collection The Big It and Other Stories is also known as Mountain Medicine.

If You Like A.B. Guthrie Books, You’ll Love…

A.B. Guthrie, Jr. Synopsis: The Big Sky by A.B. Guthrie introduces readers to the characters Boone Caudill, Jim Deakins and Dick Summers. The trio is travelling from St. Louis to the Rocky Mountains, living as jack of all traders – trappers, traders, guides and explorers. Caudill is a young Kentuckian who has a great yearning to explore the land.

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Authors » Order of A.B. Guthrie, Jr. Books

Leave a Reply