Sheriff Chick Charleston by AB Guthrie Jr
Sheriff Chick Charleston is the protagonist in a series of western/mystery novels by American author A.B. Guthrie, Jr. The series follows the title character and sidekick Jason Beard as they must solve murders – a crimes that were seldom committed in small Montana towns such as theirs.

A.B. Guthrie began his Sheriff Chick Charleston series in 1973 with the novel Wild Pitch. The series lasted five novels, concluding in 1989 with Murder in the Cotswolds. Below is a list of A.B. Guthrie’s Sheriff Chick Charleston books in order of when they were first released (which is also their chronological order):

Publication Order of Sheriff Chick Charleston Mysteries Books

Wild Pitch(1973)Description / Buy at
The Genuine Article(1977)Description / Buy at
No Second Wind(1980)Description / Buy at
Playing Catch-Up(1985)Description / Buy at
Murder in the Cotswolds(1989)Description / Buy at

If You Like Sheriff Chick Charleston Books, You’ll Love…

Sheriff Chick Charleston Synopses: Wild Pitch is the debut of A.B. Guthrie’s Chick Charleston character. Buster Hogue is shot at the town picnic and several different people around town have reason to have been the shooter. Sheriff Chick Charleston has never been involved in a murder case, nor does the department have any experience in it. What Chick does possess is patience, persistence and a familiarity with human nature. His assistant is amateur sleuth Jason Beard, a 17 year-old high school baseball pitcher.

In Playing Catch-Up (book 4 of 5 in the Chick Charleston series), Chick and Jason are working to solve the murder of a call girl. Jason must interview the madam, who offers him a view at a different side of town.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Sheriff Chick Charleston Books

Leave a Reply