Jack Schaefer (1907-1991) is an American novelist of Western fiction. He is best known for his debut novel Shane, which was adapted into a classic film. Despite the fact that he wrote Western novels, he had never been to the West for much of his life.

Jack Schaefer became a published author in 1949 with Shane. His final novel was Mavericks, published in 1967. Below is a list of Jack Schaefer’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Stubby Pringle's Christmas (1964)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Big Range (1953)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
First Blood and Other Stories (1954)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Kean Land (1960)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Tales from the West (1961)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Plainsmen (1963)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Collected Stories of Jack Schaefer (1966)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Great Endurance Horse Race (1963)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Heroes Without Glory (1965)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Jack Schaefer And The American West (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Conversations with a Pocket Gopher (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Jack Schaefer Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jack Schaefer Books

Leave a Reply