Forrest Carter is the pen name of American author and political speechwriter Asa Earl Carter (1925-1979). Carter used the pseudonym in order to masquerade as a Cherokee, but after the publication of The Rebel Outlaw: Josey Wales, The New York Times revealed that he was actually Asa Earl Carter – a Southern Klansman. Whether or not you agree with his politics, his novel The Rebel Outlaw: Josey Wales was extremely successful and was adapted into the film The Outlaw Josey Wales by Clint Eastwood.

Forrest Carter became a published novelist in 1975 with the novel Gone to Texas (originally published as The Rebel Outlaw: Josey Wales). Below is a list of Forrest Carter’s books in order of when they were first published:

Publication Order of Josey Wales Books

The Outlaw Josey Wales / Gone To Texas (1973)Description / Buy at
The Vengeance Trail of Josey WalesWales (1989)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Watch for Me on the Mountain (1976)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Education of Little Tree (1976)Description / Buy at

Note: Watch for Me on the Mountain was also published as Cry Geronimo. Gone to Texas was originally titled The Rebel Outlaw: Josey Wales.

If You Like Forrest Carter Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Forrest Carter Books

Leave a Reply