Jon Berkeley is an Irish author of children’s novels, as well as an illustrator. He was born and raised in Dublin, and studied at the National College of Art and Design. He has travelled extensively, having done freelance work in London, Sydney and Hong Kong before coming back to Dublin, and then moving to Barcelona. His illustrations have appeared in such publications as Time, the Sunday Independent, Backbone, The Washington Post, and The Economist. He lives in Spain with his wife, five kids, five cats, and a small colony of stick insects.

Jon Berkeley worked as an illustrator for twenty years before becoming a writer. His first book was a picture book entitled Chopsticks, published in 2005. The next year, he followed this up with his debut novel, The Palace of Laughter. Below is a list of Jon Berkeley’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Jon Berkeley releases a new book at

Publication Order of Wednesday Tales Books

The Palace of Laughter (2006)Description / Buy at
The Tiger's Egg (2007)Description / Buy at
The Lightning Key (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Bell Hoot Books

The Hidden Boy (2010)Description / Buy at
The Sleeper's Moon (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A Little Book of Celtic Wisdom (1995)Description / Buy at
A Little Book of Irish Sayings (2002)Description / Buy at

If You Like Jon Berkeley Books, You’ll Love…

Jon Berkeley Synopsis: The Palace of Laughter is a standalone novel by Jon Berkeley. Miles Wednesday is a poor, unhygienic orphan who lives in a barrel. She has never been to a circus before – but then the Circus Oscuro is not an everyday circus. There’s a strange beast called The Null and an array of sinister-looking clowns, and when an unusual young girl with wings falls from a tower during the performance, Miles’s life is changed forever. As Miles and Little embark on an extraordinary journey to rescue two friends who have been captured at the Palace of Laughter, they discover nothing less than the power of friendship and the gift of family.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jon Berkeley Books

Leave a Reply