Jonathan Safran Foer is an American author of literary fiction. He graduated from Princeton with a philosophy degree in 1999. He has taught fiction at Yale University and (at the time of this writing) is a writer-in-residence at New York University for its graduate creative writing program. His novel Everything is Illuminated was adapted to film by Liev Schreiber, which starred Elijah Wood. Jonathan has two children and lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Jonathan Safran Foer made his debut as a published author in 2002 with the novel Everything Is Illuminated. Below is a list of Jonathan Safran Foer’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Jonathan Safran Foer releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Everything Is Illuminated (2002)Description / Buy at
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close (2005)Description / Buy at
Tree of Codes (2010)Description / Buy at
Here I Am (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Noisy Outlaws, Unfriendly Blobs, and Some Other Things ... (2005)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Eating Animals (2009)Description / Buy at
New American Haggadah (2012)Description / Buy at
We Are the Weather (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Chapbooks

The Unabridged Pocketbook of Lightning (2005)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Convergence of Birds(2001)Description / Buy at
The Future Dictionary of America(2004)Description / Buy at
Rotten English: A Literary Anthology(2007)Description / Buy at
New Jersey Noir(2011)Description / Buy at
Central Park: An Anthology(2012)Description / Buy at
Fakes: An Anthology of Pseudo-Interviews, Faux-Lectures, Quasi-Letters, "Found" Texts, and Other Fraudulent Artifacts(2012)Description / Buy at
USA Noir(2013)Description / Buy at
Tales of Two Cities: The Best and Worst of Times In Today's New York(2014)Description / Buy at
The New Diaspora: The Changing Landscape of American Jewish Fiction(2014)Description / Buy at
Way More than Luck(2015)Description / Buy at
Life Is Short – Art Is Shorter: In Praise of Brevity(2015)Description / Buy at

Notes: Noisy Outlaws, Unfriendly Blobs, and Some Other Things… also has stories by Neil Gaiman, Nick Hornby and Jon Scieszka. Haggadah was re-published for paperback as New American Haggadah.

If You Like Jonathan Safran Foer Books, You’ll Love…

Jonathan Safran Foer Synopsis: A Convergence of Birds is an anthology edited by Jonathan Safran Foer. Jonathan Safran Foer has held a passion for twentieth-century American assemblage artist Joseph Cornell for a long time. Inspired by Cornell’s bird-themed boxes, and suspecting that others would be inspired in similar ways, Foer began to write letters. The responses he received from luminaries of American writing were nothing short of astounding. Twenty writers generously contributed pieces of prose and poetry that are as eclectic as they are imaginative, and the result is a unique collaborative project and one of the most significant engagements of literature with art for many years.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jonathan Safran Foer Books

Leave a Reply