Judith Cutler is an English author, born and bred in the Midlands, who is best known for writing the Kate Power series, the Sophie Rivers series, and the Fran Harman series. She is also the author of the Lina Townend Mystery series, the Jane Cowan series, and many more books and series.

The Midlands make up the background for many of her novels as she knows it very well. Judith was a prize winning short story writer and has also taught Creative Writing at Birmingham University. She has also had a long-run as an English lecturer at a University.

Get notified when Judith Cutler releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Caffy Tyler Books

Publication Order of Fran Harman Books

Come to Harm / Life Sentence (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Do No Harm / Cold Pursuit (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Still Waters / In Harm's Way (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
No Harm Done / Burying the Past (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Double Fault / No Harm, No Foul (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Road to Harm / Green and Pleasant Land (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Harriet & Matthew Rowsley Books

The Wages of Sin (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Legacy of Death (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death's Long Shadow (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A House Divided (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Dead Hand (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Jane Cowan Books

Publication Order of Jodie Welsh Books

Death in Elysium (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Josie Welford Books

Food Detective (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Chinese Takeout (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Kate Power Books

Power On Her Own / Murder the Boys (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Staying Power / Murder by the Canal (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Power Games / Murder by Arson (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Will Power / Murder by Fraud (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Hidden Power / Murder in Devon (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Power Shift / Murder on the Job (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Lina Townend Books

Publication Order of Sophie Rivers Books

Dying Fall (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dying to Write (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dying on Principle (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dying for Millions (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dying for Power (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dying to Score (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dying by Degrees (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dying by the Book (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dying in Discord (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dying to Deceive (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Tobias Campion Books

The Keeper of Secrets (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Shadow of the Past (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Cheating the Hangman (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Anthologies

The World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories 5(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
CWA Anthology of Short Stories: Mystery Tour(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Midsummer Mysteries Short Stories(2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Judith Cutler Books, You’ll Love…

Life Sentence is the first book in the Fran Harman series. The book starts with an unidentifiable woman who is found clinging to life. She has been sexually assaulted and now lays in a coma. The man who rescues her is distraught and spends hours at her bedside talking to her. The story then picks up two years later when Elise’s condition is downgraded and she may be taken off life support and if that happens, her attacker will be guilty of murder. Chief Superintendent Frances Harman is months away from retirement and she has been assigned to investigate. Fran has a lot going on in her life and the stress plays a big factor for her, but she’ll need to overcome to solve this complex case.

The Detective Kate Power series starts with Murder the Boys. The story starts in Birmingham where Kate Power is making a new start after being exiled by London’s Metropolitan Police. Kate is anxious to get lost in her work as her past is marked by personal tragedy and her present is marked by the advances of her new colleagues. She gets a case when boys are being abducted and murdered in her patch. Her colleagues seem to be dragging their feet on the case, but Kate can’t do that.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Judith Cutler Books

Leave a Reply