Julian Barnes is an English author who has written numerous award winning and successful books. Julian was born in Leicester, England before heading to Magdalen College in Oxford where he majored in modern languages and graduated with honors. After college, he would work as a lexicographer for the Oxford English Dictionary supplement, a reviewer, a literary editor and a television critic before finding his way to books.

Barnes is known as an author who deal with the themes of history, reality, truth and love. He is greatly respected in his history and has been the recipient of multiple awards including the Somerset Maugham Award, Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize, E. M. Forster Award, Gutenberg Prize, Grinzane Cavour Prize, and the Prix Femina. He also received the Sunday Times Award for Literary Excellence in 2013 and the 2015 Zinklar Award at the Blixen Ceremony in Copenhagen.

Get notified when Julian Barnes releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Talking It Over Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Metroland (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Before She Met Me (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Flaubert's Parrot (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Staring at the Sun (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A History of the World in 10½Chapters (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Porcupine (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
England, England (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Arthur & George (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Sense of an Ending (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Noise of Time (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Only Story (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Elizabeth Finch (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Plays

Arthur and George: Stage Version (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Cross Channel (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Evermore (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Explaining the Explicit (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Homage to Hemingway (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Letters From London (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Something to Declare (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Pedant in the Kitchen (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Nothing to be Frightened Of (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Keeping an Eye Open (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Life with Books (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Through the Window (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Levels of Life (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Man in the Red Coat (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Anthologies

Granta 7: Best of Young British Novelists(1983)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Penguin Book of Modern British Short Stories(1987)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Secret Ingredients(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Birds of Prey(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Stories to Get You Through the Night(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Library Book(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
That Glimpse of Truth(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Lives of Houses(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Julian Barnes Books, You’ll Love…

The Sense of an Ending is one of the more popular books in Barnes oeuvre and won the 2011 Man Booker Prize. The book follows a middle-aged man named Tony Webster who is forced to deal with a past that he thought he left long behind. A traumatic experience from his youth, and a time that he has felt best to leave behind, comes back in a unique way when there is a unexpected bequeathment that seems to be impossible to obtain. Old issues are opened up and the story takes you to some very interesting psychological and emotional places.

Another great book by Barnes is called The Only Story. The book sees a man named Paul looking back at his life, the only story of his life, that started when he was nineteen and a member of a tennis club. It was there that he met Susan, a 48-year old mother and wife, who he bonds quickly with and the two become lovers. The book is an interesting journey that examines how our narratives and our lives shape one another.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Julian Barnes Books

Leave a Reply