Zadie Smith is a British author of literary fiction novels, short stories and non-fiction books. She began writing when she was 6 years old, but had other interests over the years, including tap dancing, musicals and dreams of being infront of the camera. Zadie earned her English degree from Cambridge University, which is when she began writing White Teeth. She had intended on finding a career in journalism, but the sale of her novel took her on a different path.

Zadie Smith made her debut as a novelist in 1999 with the novel White Teeth. Below is a list of Zadie Smith’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Zadie Smith releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Embassy of Cambodia (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Martha and Hanwell (2003)Description / Buy at
Grand Union (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

Weirdo (With: Nick Laird) (2021)Description / Buy at
The Surprise (With: Nick Laird) (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Changing My Mind (2009)Description / Buy at
Stop What You're Doing and Read This! (With: Michael Rosen,Jeanette Winterson,Mark Haddon) (2011)Description / Buy at
Feel Free (2018)Description / Buy at
Intimations (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Piece of Flesh(1999)Description / Buy at
Speaking With the Angel(2000)Description / Buy at
The Burned Children of America(2003)Description / Buy at
Oxford American Writer's Thesaurus(2004)Description / Buy at
The Believer Book of Writers Talking to Writers(2005)Description / Buy at
The Book of Other People(2007)Description / Buy at
Best European Fiction 2010(2009)Description / Buy at
The Library Book(2012)Description / Buy at
The Best American Essays 2013(2013)Description / Buy at
Tales of Two Cities: The Best and Worst of Times In Today's New York(2014)Description / Buy at
New Daughters of Africa(2019)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Burned Children of America was co-edited by Dave Eggers. Stop What You’re Doing and Read This! also contains contributions from Carmen Callil, Mark Haddon, Michael Rosen and Jeanette Winterson.

If You Like Zadie Smith Books, You’ll Love…

Zadie Smith Synopses: White Teeth is a standalone title by Zadie Smith. It’s New Year’s morning in 1975, and Archie Jones sits in his car on a London road and waits for the exhaust fumes to fill his Cavalier Musketeer station wagon. Archie – working-class, ordinary, a failed marriage under his belt – is calling it quits, the judge being the flip of a 20-pence coin. When the owner of a nearby halal butcher shop (annoyed that Archie’s car is blocking his delivery area) comes out and bangs on the window, he gives Archie another chance at life and sets in motion this rich story.

On Beauty by Zadie Smith is the story of an interracial family living in the university town of Wellington, Massachusetts, whose misadventures in the culture wars – on both sides of the Atlantic – serve to skewer everything from family life to political correctness to the combustive collision between the personal and the political.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Zadie Smith Books

Leave a Reply