Kathleen E Woodiwiss
Kathleen Woodiwiss (1939-2007) was an American author of historical romance novels. She is a considered a pioneer of the romance genre. After she settled with her husband in Minnesota, Kathleen tried several times to write a novel longhand, but failed. Once she got her hands on an electric typewriter, she was able to get started. Her 600-page manuscripts were initially rejected by hardcover publishers, but found a home in paperback. Her novels included sex scenes, following monogamous relationships in historical settings.

Kathleen Woodiwiss’ career began in 1972 with her debut novel, The Flame and the Flower. The novel launched her Birmingham Family Saga series. Her final novel was published shortly after her death in 2007, which was entitled Everlasting. Below is a list of Kathleen E. Woodiwiss’ books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Birmingham Family Saga Books

The Flame and the Flower (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Beyond the Kiss (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Season Beyond a Kiss (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Elusive Flame (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Chronological Order of Birmingham Family Saga Books

A Season Beyond a Kiss is the fourth installment of the series (second novel); when reading in chronological order, it should come before The Elusive Flame. The Kiss and Beyond the Kiss are short stories that are found exclusively in anthologies.

Publication Order of Kathleen E. Woodwiss Standalone Novels

The Wolf and the Dove (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Shanna (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Ashes in the Wind (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Come Love a Stranger (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Rose in Winter (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
So Worthy My Love (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Forever in Your Embrace (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Petals on the River (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Reluctant Suitor (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Everlasting (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of The Gamblers Books

(with Lisa Kleypas)

Then Came You (By: Lisa Kleypas) (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dreaming of You (By: Lisa Kleypas) (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Three Weddings and a Kiss(1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Married at Midnight(1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: Three Weddings and a Kiss also contains stories by Catherine Anderson, Loretta Chase and Lisa Kleypas. Married at Midnight also includes stories from Jo Beverley, Tanya Anne Crosby and Samantha James.

If You Like Kathleen E. Woodiwiss Books, You’ll Love…

Kathleen E. Woodiwiss Synopsis: In The Flame and the Flower by Kathleen Woodiwiss, Heather Simmons is seemingly stuck in a life of unending toil until she must flee and seek refuge with a virile and dangerous stranger. Captain Brandon Birmingham receives scourn when he abducts the stunning fugitive near a dock in London. But nothing can keep him from keeping his prize, who he is determined to make his woman.

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Kathleen E. Woodiwiss Books

3 Responses to “Order of Kathleen E. Woodiwiss Books”

  1. AudreyD: 8 months ago

    I have loved Kathleen Woodiwiss’ books since the first one came out “The Flame and the Flower”.
    I have the whole collection and have literally read them over and over again.
    I have not found another author who knew her history so well, that she would put incidents that happened during the times the books were dated for.
    I miss her greatly, Kathleen opened my eyes to good writing & storytelling.
    Thank you


  2. Linda: 12 months ago

    I read the Birmingham series in the late 1970s. My interest in history was piqued in a different way. Woodiwiss remains forever iconic.


  3. Sue Ellen Durham: 4 years ago

    i want to order books


Leave a Reply