Kazuo Ishiguro is a world-renowned author of The Remains of the Day, Klara and the Sun, Never Let Me Go, and other novels.

Ishiguro was born in Nagasaki, Japan and his family relocated to Britain when he was five years old. His writing has earned him numerous awards and honors around the world, but the most coveted has to be the Nobel Prize in Literature. Kazuo has had his books adapted into films with The Remains of the Day, starring Anthony Hopkins and Emma Thompson, leading to numerous awards and nominations for the cast. He has been decorated with the Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres from France and the Order of the Rising Sun, Gold and Silver Star from Japan.

Get notified when Kazuo Ishiguro releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Pale View of Hills (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
An Artist of the Floating World (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Remains of the Day (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Unconsoled (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
When We Were Orphans (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Never Let Me Go (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Buried Giant (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Klara and the Sun (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Come Rain or Come Shine (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Anthologies

Granta 7: Best of Young British Novelists(1983)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Penguin Book of Modern British Short Stories(1987)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Kazuo Ishiguro Books, You’ll Love…

Klara and the Sun tells the story of Klara, an Artificial Friend with outstanding observational qualities. She has a place in the store where she carefully watches the behavior of the people who come into the store as well as those who pass by outside. Klara has a dream that one day a customer will choose her and she will be able to leave the store. Kazuo’s book has an unforgettable narrator and a story that explores the question of life: what does it mean to love?

Another well-received book by Ishiguro is Never Let Me Go. This book focuses on Kathy, Ruth, and Tommy. When they were children they went to an exclusive boarding school secluded in the English countryside where they constantly reminded of just how special they were. Now, Kathy is a young woman and Ruth and Tommy have just reentered her life. The connection makes Kathy look back on their shared past in order to understand just what it is that truly makes them special, and how they can us that gift to shape their future together.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Kazuo Ishiguro Books

Leave a Reply