Keigo Higashino is a Japanese author of mystery novels. He is one of the most popular authors in his native country, akin to James Patterson, Dean Koontz or Tom Clancy. He began writing while working as an engineer at Nippon Denso Co. When he was 27, he won the Edogawa Rampo Prize (for best mystery) for his novel Hokago. He has also won the Mystery Writers of Japan Inc. award for the novel Himitsu (Naoko in English). Keigo’s novel The Devotion of Suspect X sold 800,000 copies in Japan the year it was published, making it the second highest selling book (including both fiction and non-fiction) in Japan of that year. It won the Naoki Prize for Best Novel and was adapted to film.

Keigo Higashino made his debut as a published novelist in the English language with Naoko in 2004. Below is a list of Keigo Higashino’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Keigo Higashino releases a new book at

Publication Order of Detective Galileo Books

The Devotion of Suspect X (2011)Description / Buy at
Salvation of a Saint (2012)Description / Buy at
A Midsummer's Equation (2016)Description / Buy at
Silent Parade (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Detective Kaga Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Naoko (2004)Description / Buy at
Under the Midnight Sun / Journey Under the Midnight Sun (2015)Description / Buy at
The Name of the Game is Kidnapping (2017)Description / Buy at
The Miracles of the Namiya General Store (2019)Description / Buy at

Note: Under the Midnight Sun was originally published as Journey Under the Midnight Sun.

If You Like Keigo Higashino Books, You’ll Love…

  • Natsuo Kirino
  • Seicho Matsumoto
  • Miyuki Miyabe

Keigo Higashino Synopses: Under the Midnight Sun is a standalone title by Keigo Higashino. In Osaka in 1973, the body of a murdered man is found in an abandoned building. Investigating the crime, Detective Sasagaki is unable to find the killer. Over the next two decades, through the lens of a succession of characters, Higashino tells the story of two teens, Ryo and Yukiho, whose lives are most affected by the crime, and the obsessed detective, Sasagaki, who never stops investigating the murder, looking for the truth that eludes him.

The Miracles of the Namiya General Store by Keigo Higashino is a standalone novel. When three criminals hole up in an abandoned general store after their most recent robbery, to their great surprise, a letter drops through the mail slot in the store’s shutter. This seemingly simple request for advice sets the trio on a journey of discovery as, over the course of a single night, they step into the role of the kindhearted former shopkeeper who devoted his waning years to offering thoughtful counsel to his correspondents. Through the lens of time, they share insight with those seeking guidance, and by morning, none of their lives will ever be the same.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Keigo Higashino Books

Leave a Reply