Kevin Powers (Photo Credit: Marjorie Cotera)
Kevin Powers is an American author of literary fiction and poetry. He is a New York Times bestselling author. A native of Virginia, Kevin graduated from Virginia Commonwealth University, and earned an MFA from the University of Texas at Austin, as a Michener Fellow in Poetry. He served in the US Army from 2004 until 2005, and was deployed in Iraq as a machine gunner.

Kevin Powers made his debut as a novelist in 2012 with the novel The Yellow Birds. The novel was longlisted for the Guardian First Book Award for that year. Below is a list of Kevin Powers’ books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Kevin Powers releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Yellow Birds (2012)Description / Buy at
A Shout in the Ruins (2018)Description / Buy at
A Line in the Sand (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Letter Composed During a Lull in the Fighting (2014)Description / Buy at

If You Like Kevin Powers Books, You’ll Love…

Kevin Powers Synopsis: The Yellow Birds is a standalone title by Kevin Powers. In Al Tafar, Iraq, twenty-one-year old Private Bartle and eighteen-year-old Private Murphy cling to life as their platoon launches a bloody battle for the city. Bound together since basic training when Bartle makes a promise to bring Murphy safely home, the two have been dropped into a war neither is prepared for. In the endless days that follow, the two young soldiers do everything to protect each other from the forces that press in on every side: the insurgents, physical fatigue, and the mental stress that comes from constant danger. As reality begins to blur into a hazy nightmare, Murphy becomes increasingly unmoored from the world around him and Bartle takes actions he could never have imagined.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Kevin Powers Books

Leave a Reply