Ben Fountain is an American author of fiction. His work has appeared in such publications as Harper’s, The Paris Review, and Zoetrope: All Story. Among his accolades are an O. Henry Prize, two Pushcart Prizes, and the PEN/Hemingway Award. Ben lives with his wife and their two children in Dallas, Texas.

Ben Fountain made his debut with the short story collection Brief Encounters with Che Guevara in 2006. His first novel was 2012’s Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk. Below is a list of Ben Fountain’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Ben Fountain releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk (2012)Description / Buy at
Devil Makes Three (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Brief Encounters with Che Guevara (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Beautiful Country Burn Again (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

TwentiethAnnual Collection(2007)Description / Buy at
Astoria to Zion(2013)Description / Buy at
Dallas Noir(2013)Description / Buy at

If You Like Ben Fountain Books, You’ll Love…

Ben Fountain Synopsis: Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk is a standalone title by Ben Fountain. Under four minutes of intensive warfare with Iraqi insurgents – caught on video by an embedded Fox News crew – has transformed the eight surviving men of Bravo Squad into America’s most in-demand heroes. Now they’re on a nationwide media tour to re-energize public support for the war. On this rainy Thanksgiving Day, the Bravos are guests of a Dallas football team, slated to be part of the halftime show. Among them is nineteen-year-old Specialist Billy Lynn. Surrounded by patriots, he is thrust into the company of the team’s owner and his colleagues; a born-again cheerleader; a veteran Hollywood producer; and bulky football players eager for a vicarious taste of war. Over the course of the day, Billy will drink and brawl, yearn for home and mourn those missing, face a heart-wrenching decision and discover pure love and a bitter wisdom far beyond his years.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Ben Fountain Books

Leave a Reply