Larry Millett is an American author of historical mystery novels and non-fiction books as well as being a journalist. He is the author of the Shadwell Rafferty & Sherlock Holmes series, set in Minneapolis in the 1890s. He also worked as an architectural critic for the St. Paul Pioneer Press in Minnesota and has written for several historical and architectural magazines in the Midwestern United States.

Larry Millett became a published author in 1985 with the non-fiction book The Curve of the Arch: The Story of Louis Sullivan’s Owatonna Bank. His first work of fiction was the novel Sherlock Holmes and the Red Demon, published in 1996. Below is a list of Larry Millett’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Larry Millett releases a new book at

Publication Order of Shadwell Rafferty / Sherlock Holmes Books

Sherlock Holmes and the Red Demon (1996)Description / Buy at
Sherlock Holmes and the Ice Palace Murders (1998)Description / Buy at
Sherlock Holmes and the Rune Stone Mystery (1999)Description / Buy at
Sherlock Holmes and the Secret Alliance (2001)Description / Buy at
The Disappearance of Sherlock Holmes (2002)Description / Buy at
The Magic Bullet (2011)Description / Buy at
Strongwood (2014)Description / Buy at
Sherlock Holmes and the Eisendorf Enigma (2017)Description / Buy at
Rafferty's Last Case (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Curve of the Arch (1985)Description / Buy at
Lost Twin Cities (1992)Description / Buy at
Twin Cities Then and Now (1996)Description / Buy at
Strange Days, Dangerous Nights (2004)Description / Buy at
AIA Guide to the Twin Cities (2007)Description / Buy at
Murder Has a Public Face (2008)Description / Buy at
AIA Guide to St. Paul's Summit Avenue and Hill District (2009)Description / Buy at
AIA Guide to the Minneapolis Lake District (2009)Description / Buy at
AIA Guide to Downtown St Paul (2010)Description / Buy at
AIA Guide to Downtown Minneapolis (2010)Description / Buy at
Once There Were Castles: Lost Mansions and Estates of the Twin Cities (2011)Description / Buy at
Minnesota's Own: Preserving Our Grand Homes (2014)Description / Buy at
Minnesota Modern (2015)Description / Buy at
Heart of St. Paul (2016)Description / Buy at
Metropolitan Dreams (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Twin Cities Noir(2006)Description / Buy at
The MX Book of New Sherlock Holmes Stories Part III: 1896 to 1929(2015)Description / Buy at

If You Like Larry Millett Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Larry Millett Books

One Response to “Order of Larry Millett Books”

  1. Tom St Martin: 2 years ago

    Mr Millett,

    I have always been fascinated by your work. Being an avid car history buff, I have often wondered about the original Minneapolis Auto Row, aka, Harmon Place, in downtown Minneapolis. I only know of one specific dealership, Minneapolis Packard, that I have seen a photo of from 1933 when it also sold Auburns. That entire corner where Harmon Place and Hennepin Ave connect has many of the art deco buildings still standing.

    Do you have any photo history and information that we old car nuts can look forward to seeing in print, or even on TPT?

    Tom St. Martin


Leave a Reply