Laura Madeleine is an English novelist of historical fiction novels. Despite early aspirations in acting and a notable stint in theater and film, including roles in “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban” and “The Phantom of the Opera,” Laura redirected her path toward academia, pursuing English at Newnham College, Cambridge. She is known for her novels such as The Confectioner’s Tale, Where the Wild Cherries Grow, The Secrets Between Us, and An Echo of Scandal, published worldwide. Additionally, she writes romance under the pseudonym Lili Hayward, with works like The Cat of Yule Cottage. Her short stories have appeared in various publications. Laura resides in Bristol, in a vivid blue house with her partner, frequently visiting her family in Devon. An avid gardener, she tends to her allotment in her spare time.

Laura Madeleine made her debut as a novelist in 2015 with The Confectioner’s Tale. By coincidence, her sister Lucy Hounsom’s debut novel was published that same day. Below is a list of Laura Madeleine’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Laura Madeleine releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Confectioner's Tale (2015)Description / Buy at
Where the Wild Cherries Grow (2017)Description / Buy at
The Secrets Between Us (2018)Description / Buy at
An Echo of Scandal (2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Laura Madeleine Books, You’ll Love…

Laura Madeleine Synopses: The Confectioner’s Tale is a standalone novel by Laura Madeleine. In 1909, at the renowned Patisserie Clermont in Paris, a young man’s chance encounter with the owner’s daughter opens his eyes to a world of delectable treats and forbidden romance. Seduced by the art of confectionery and the allure of a clandestine love affair, he embarks on a journey filled with sweet cream, melted chocolate, and powdered sugar.

Nearly eighty years later, an academic stumbles upon a hidden photograph of her grandfather alongside two unfamiliar faces. Intrigued by the cryptic message “Forgive me” inscribed on the back, she delves into the mystery, unraveling the tale of two star-crossed lovers and a betrayal that spans generations.

In Laura Madeleine’s Where the Wild Cherries Grow, set in 1919, Emeline Vane finds herself adrift in grief and loneliness following the end of World War I. Seeking solace, she impulsively boards a train and escapes to a quaint seaside village in the South of France. There, she encounters a world of unfamiliar flavors and experiences, taken in by the warmth of café owner Maman and her son. As Emeline immerses herself in this new life, secrets from her past begin to resurface, threatening to unravel the fragile peace she has found.

Fifty years later, young solicitor Bill Perch comes across Emeline’s diary, sparking a quest to uncover the truth behind her mysterious disappearance all those years ago. As Bill delves deeper into Emeline’s story, he unravels a tale of betrayal and love, leading him on a journey to uncover long-buried secrets and untangle the truth of her past.

The Secrets Between Us by Laura Madeleine is a standalone novel. In the mountains of the South of France in 1943, eighteen-year-old Ceci Corvin struggles to maintain a sense of normalcy amidst the tumult of wartime. But in a time when scandal carries its own dangers, especially for a young woman entangled in forbidden love, Ceci finds herself navigating treacherous waters.

Fifty years later, Annie embarks on a quest to find her long-lost grandmother. Armed with only a handful of documents, she travels from England to Paris in search of answers. Yet, as Annie delves into her grandmother’s past, she uncovers unexpected revelations that challenge everything she thought she knew about her family and herself.

An Echo of Scandal is a standalone novel from novelist Laura Madeleine. Accused of murder, Alejandra flees her home and seeks refuge in the southern region of Spain, where she faces the harsh realities of poverty and destitution.

Drawn by the allure of wealth and the promise of anonymity in Tangier, Ale makes a bold move for a fresh start. However, her newfound life demands a heavy toll: a facade of lies and deception. As Ale immerses herself in the bustling city, her new acquaintances pry into her past, eager to uncover her secrets and determine if she can be trusted.

Fifty years later, a young American writer roams the streets of Tangier in search of creative inspiration. Serendipitously stumbling upon traces of Alejandra’s enigmatic life, he becomes entangled in a tale of scandal, love, and peril that has yet to reach its conclusion.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Laura Madeleine Books

Leave a Reply