Len Deighton is an English author of spy novels and cookbooks. He is best known for his Harry Palmer novels, including The Ipcress File. The Ipcress File was adapted into a film starring Michael Caine. Deighton is also an expert on the history of the British military, having written several non-fiction books on it.

Len Deighton became a published author in 1962 with The Ipcress File. Below is a list of Len Deighton’s books in order of when they were originally published (and in chronological order):

Get notified when Len Deighton releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Harry Palmer Books

The Ipcress File (1962)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Horse Under Water (1962)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Funeral in Berlin (1964)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Billion-Dollar Brain (1966)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
An Expensive Place to Die (1967)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Spy Story (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Twinkle, Twinkle Little Spy / Catch a Falling Spy (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Bernard Samson Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Declarations of War (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Action Cook Book (1965)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Où est le garlic / Basic French Cooking (1965)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
No Royalty A/C Action Cook Book (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Fighter (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Airshipwreck (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Blitzkrieg (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Battle of Britain (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Basic French Cookery Course (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
ABC of French Food (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Blood, Tears, and Folly (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Len Deighton’s French Cooking for Men (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
James Bond: My Long and Eventful Search for His Father (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Great Flying Stories(1991)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Man Who...(1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Motives for Murder(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Spy was also released under the title Catch a Falling Spy. Only When I Larf was also published under the title Only When I Laugh. Action Cook Book was also titled Cookstrip Cookbook. Ou est le Garlic? was also titled Basic French Cooking. Fighter and Airship Wreck were co-authored by Arnold Schwartzman. Battle of Britain was co-authored by Max Hastings.

If You Like Len Deighton Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Len Deighton Books

5 Responses to “Order of Len Deighton Books”

  1. HAZEL NATTRASS: 2 years ago

    Some years ago I read a book, I am sure by Len Deighton, under the title of something like Mr. Howerwich and Mrs. ?

    It was a story of two people becoming friends in an old people’s home. It was funny and heart warming.

    Can anyone tell me the proper title and also, if possible, from where can I obtain a copy.


  2. rpaco: 5 years ago

    Also missing from list are: Road to Gandolfo and Road to Omaha


    • Peter Pan: 3 years ago

      Those books are missing because they were written
      by Robert Ludlum.


    • Lorna: 2 years ago

      These two are Robert Ludlum Books, not Len Deighton’s.


  3. Roger Burn: 9 years ago

    I notice one omission from your list of Len’s non-fiction books: Len Deighton’s London Dossier, published in about 1963. I thoroughly enjoyed it and found it very useful


Leave a Reply