Harry Palmer is a series of spy fiction novels by British novelist Len Deighton. Although the name of the series has been unofficially referred to as the “Harry Palmer” series, the protagonist is unnamed. The series has been adapted to a series of six films starring Michael Caine (in which the character is known as Harry Palmer). The Harry Palmer character wears glasses, is working class and lives in the backstreets and in seedy hotels.

The Harry Palmer series began in 1962 with The Ipcress File. The last novel in the series was Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Spy, published in 1976. Below is a list of Len Deighton’s Harry Palmer books in order of when they were first published (and in chronological order):

Get notified when Len Deighton releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Harry Palmer Books

The Ipcress File(1962)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Horse Under Water(1962)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Funeral in Berlin(1964)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Billion-Dollar Brain(1966)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
An Expensive Place to Die(1967)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Spy Story(1974)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Twinkle, Twinkle Little Spy / Catch a Falling Spy(1976)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Spy was also published as Catch a Falling Spy.

If You Like Harry Palmer Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Harry Palmer Books

Leave a Reply