Lindsey Hutchinson is an English author of family saga novels. She writes the Black Country series. She was born and raised in the West Midlands, the daughter of novelist Meg Hutchinson. She was typing up her manuscripts when it reignited her love for writing and decided to follow in her footsteps. Aside from writing, Lindsey also enjoys reading, photography, socializing, and travelling. She is married and has two children and three grandchildren.

Lindsey Hutchinson made her debut as a novelist in 2017 with The Workhouse Children, beginning her Black Country series. Below is a list of Lindsey Hutchinson’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Lindsey Hutchinson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Black Country Books

The Workhouse Children (2017)Description / Buy at
The Wives' Revenge (2017)Description / Buy at
The Lost Sisters (2018)Description / Buy at
The Orphan Girl (2018)Description / Buy at
The Girl on the Doorstep (2018)Description / Buy at
Fallen Women (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Five Shilling Children (2019)Description / Buy at
The Children from Gin Barrel Lane (2020)Description / Buy at
Minnie's Orphans (2020)Description / Buy at
The Hat Girl From Silver Street (2021)Description / Buy at
A Winter Baby for Gin Barrel Lane (2021)Description / Buy at
The Runaway Children (2022)Description / Buy at
Heartbreak for the Hat Girl (2022)Description / Buy at
The Ragged Orphan (2023)Description / Buy at
The Bad Penny (2023)Description / Buy at
The Pick-Pocket Orphans (2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Lindsey Hutchinson Books, You’ll Love…

Lindsey Hutchinson Synopses: In The Five Shilling Children by Lindsey Hutchinson, Adam and Polly Fitch find themselves confronted with a grim destiny when their tyrannical father sells them to Miss Reed’s orphanage for a mere five shillings. With their mother Minnie absent and their three brothers left behind, they understand that their only chance of survival lies in sticking together. Despite the challenges, the orphanage offers a silver lining in the form of a lively group of children who become their makeshift family. United in their determination to break free from the clutches of the wicked Miss Reed, the siblings and their newfound friends embark on a daring escape plan. Meanwhile, Adam realizes that in order to endure, he must learn to fight, prompting him to secretly seek boxing lessons from the renowned pugilist Billy Marshall. Little does he know that these lessons will become necessary sooner than expected when his cherished sister Polly is sold to the affluent Bellamy family. Driven by love and loyalty, Adam resolves to rescue Polly from her predicament. As they navigate a world where they can only rely on each other, Adam, Polly, and their loyal companions strive to survive and yearn for the blissful conclusion they so desperately desire.

The Children from Gin Barrel Lane is a standalone title by Lindsey Hutchinson. In the world of the Gin Palace, where broken hearts and broken bones are commonplace, orphan Dolly finds herself seeking solace at the Crown, her final refuge. Following the passing of her mother, Dolly flees from her unsavory stepfather Arthur, only to end up living on the streets. However, her luck takes a turn when Jack discovers her hiding in the backyard of The Crown and convinces his mother, Nellie Larkin, to provide Dolly with shelter.

But Dolly carries a secret—a secret of great value—and Arthur is determined to get his hands on her at any cost. As the relentless pursuit intensifies with the involvement of the local tough guy, Ezra Morton, the Larkin family faces the daunting task of safeguarding Dolly, even if it means risking everything they hold dear.

Heartbreak for the Hat Girl by Lindsey Hutchinson is a standalone novel. Half a decade has passed since Ella Bancroft endured the heart-wrenching loss of her beloved Harper Fortescue, and despite the well-meaning encouragement from her friends, she remains unable to move forward. Amidst the lingering sorrow, there is a glimmer of light that sustains Ella’s spirit—the soaring success of her hat emporium, Ivella. Her exquisite designs and remarkable creations have become the preferred choice of the fashionable Edwardian ladies in Walsall, and her reputation is spreading far and wide.

However, there is one person who will never forgive Ella for what she perceives as the theft of her fiancé and the ruination of her own life—Darcie Newland. Even though Harper’s heart was never truly Darcie’s, she harbors an unyielding resentment towards Ella. Following yet another scandal, Darcie was banished to Scotland by her parents, but she has now returned to Birmingham, fueled by a vengeful determination.

Amidst the flourishing of her hat business and the unexpected emergence of a potential new love interest, Ella cautiously dares to entertain hopes of a blissful future. Yet, ominous clouds gather on the horizon, threatening the serenity of the Black Country. Life, it seems, may have alternative plans in store for the spirited hat girl from Silver Street.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Lindsey Hutchinson Books

Leave a Reply